LibGuides: Grey Literature in Multicultural Women's & Gender Studies (MWGS) Research: Zines

Using Zines in Research

Zines are creative, and informative, grey literature documents. Oftentimes the "voice" of women or under-representative groups can have the opportunity to be heard through a zine format. Try using your chosen keywords along with the word "zine" to see what resources might be able to add to works you cite in your research.

MWGS Zine Collections

Click here for a list of Zine publishers by Fanlore, or see below for individual or collections of Zines.

Barnard College Zines
Zine Library from Barnard College
Chapman University Women's Studies, Feminist Zine Archive
The Experiential Matrix: a feminist zine about feminist zines
Feminist
" We provide an intentional space for intersectional, international and intergenerational feminism.
We exist to amplify the voices, messages, and platforms of a diverse network of change makers, activists, creators and artists. "
The Feminist Imaginary Research Network (FIRN)
Zines and "Reimagining gender justice through creative and arts-based adult education, research, and curation in museums, libraries, heritage sites, universities, and communities."
Food and Cooking Zines at Harvard Radcliffe Institute's Schlesinger Library
GJL Zine 2019
University of Colorado Boulder-Zine collection
Grassroots Feminism Zines
Digital archives of zines from Grassroots Feminism
Grrrl Zine Fair
"Inspired by Riot Grrrl culture of the 1990’s, which combined zine-making, art and music, with the band Bikini Kill coining the term ‘Grrrl to the front!’ - Grrrl has continued this mission of bringing girls, women, transgender, non-binary and gender fluid people to the front, prioritising their voices through events, commissioning new artworks, hosting zine and skill sharing workshops, talks and curating exhibitions occasionally!"
HOMOCATS and other queer zines
Queer Zine Archive Project
The University of Kansas-Emily Taylor Center for Women & Gender Equity, Making Zines, Doing Feminism
The Westport Library: Zine Activism
Women's Studies, Feminist Zine Archive
"Writings and artwork depicting feminism and women's issues" from Chapman University
Women's Studies, Feminist Zine Archive
"Writings and artwork depicting feminism and women's issues." from Calisphere, University of California
Zine Archive & Publishing Project
"The Zine Archive and Publishing Project (ZAPP) was a volunteer-driven living archive of over 30,000 self-published materials, a DIY resource and educational center committed to supporting underheard voices from around the world, maintaining and validating publications outside the literary mainstream."
Zinelibraries.info
"Sharing zine library love and expertise"
Zines at the Library of Congress
"The Library of Congress has a growing collection of zines." "Zines are housed in the general collections and can be requested online at the Library of Congress. The general collections include books, pamphlets, and bound (non-current) periodicals in all languages except some that use non-roman alphabets (e.g., Chinese, Arabic) and in all areas of the classification scheme except law, music, and maps/atlases."
Zines Project
Zines project from Young Women's Studies Club

Articles on Zines and Teaching with Zines

"Teaching Note, Using Zines to Teach About Gender Minority Experiences and Mixed-Methods Research
Article from Chana Etengoff
'Freedom in her Mind': Women's Prison Zines and Feminist Writing in the 1970s
Article from Olivia Wright that "examines the under-researched and undervalued area of American women’s prison zines."
(2017) Feminist Ephemera in a Digital World: Theorizing Zines as Networked Feminist Practice
Article by Rosemary Clark-Parsons
American Libraries: By the Numbers: International Zine Month
Black-Dalit Feminist Vision
Zine by Sydonie Bell
Breaking the Jaw! Zine Making and Feminism in Manilla
Article by Claire Villacorta
A Citation Analysis about Scholarship on Zines
Article by Anne Hays
Community of Online Research Assignments
"An open access resources for faculty and librarians."
Counterculture, Craftmanship, and Cyberspace Connectivity: Considerations of Contemporary Feminist Zines in/as/of Art Educaiton
Article by Courtney Lee Weida
Cultivating Dissent: Queer zines and the active subect
The effects of creating feminist zines on the cultural identity development of adolescent girls: From Riot grrrl to Rookie
Thesis by Kara-Leigh J. Huse, BA
Feminist Zines: (Pre) Occupations of Gender, Politics, and D.I.Y. in a Digital Age
Article by Courtney Lee Weida
Girl Zines: Making Media, Doing Feminism
Article by Alison Piepmeier
Non-Binary Identity in Feminist Zines: Media third spaces and oppositional consciousness
Article by Jake A. Mahr
Resisting mainstream media: girls and the act of making zines
Article by Melanie A. Ferris
Self-to-community collaborations: Women of color interconnecting through zines
Thesis by Daisy Salinas
Teaching with Zines
"Teaching with Zines" from Brooklyn Borough of Manhattan Community College (BMCC)
Zine: Policing Gender
Article from Maggie Moriarity, Megan Sewell, Megan Scharrer
“Orient, Disorient, Reorient” Celebrates Asian American Voices