Skip to Main Content
The teaching or training of patients concerning their own health needs.
Patient Education resources are usually provided by a health practitioner such as a nurse, pharmacist, doctor, dentist, physician's assistant, etc.
Patient education resources explain a procedure or a condition or the contents of a specific article in a biomedical journal and written in non-technical language for the patient or consumer.
The following databases contain information on Consumer Health and Patient Education.
Hover over a database name for details.
Effective Searching must be planned and methodical. Below are suggested steps for searching.
1. Know your topic. (Background Information)
Dates, names, spellings, definitions, symptoms, etc.
2. List all the search terms for the topic you can think of.
Think SYNONYMS: Formal, Informal, and Technical
3. Ask yourself where might information on your topic be located.
Internet? Books? Newspapers? Journals?
4. Choose your search tool.
TWUniversal? A Database? Google? Google Scholar?
5. Decide which information format you want.
Article? Video? Book Chapter? Audio file? Image?
6. Make a plan.
Database + search terms X, Y & Z + peer-review
7. Explore your topic in several places.
Analyze your results. Which search terms work best?
8. Search again and again and again.
Keep testing search terms in different databases.
9. Archive your citations in RefWorks.
Let RefWorks create your Bibliography automatically.
10. Can't find what you are looking for?
Ask the Librarian assigned to this Subject Guide for help.
Example Database Search for articles:
Example Google Scholar Search for articles:
Monday - Friday
8:00am - 5:00pm
For appointments, call 940-898-3826 (Denton, Dallas) or 713-500-3248 (Houston)
Ask A Nurse Advice Line, call 940-898-3827 (Denton) or 888-898-8825 (Dallas, Houston)
Women's Health Care:
Health Sciences Librarians
Texas Woman's University
P.O. Box 425528
Denton, TX 76204
Eula Oliphant & Mandie Mims
T. Boone Pickens Institute of Health Sciences
Health Sciences Library
5500 Southwestern Medical Avenue
Dallas, TX 75235-7299
Institute of Health Sciences
Academic Resource Center
6700 Fannin Street
Houston, TX 77030-4132