"Leukemia is cancer of the white blood cells. White blood cells help your body fight infection. Your blood cells form in your bone marrow. In leukemia, the bone marrow produces abnormal white blood cells. These cells crowd out the healthy blood cells, making it hard for blood to do its work. In chronic myeloid leukemia (CML), there are too many granulocytes, a type of white blood cell." (MelinePlus.gov "Chronic Myeloid Leukemia")
There are many ways to say and search for Chronic Myeloid Leukemia (CML). If you are looking for information online, in library databases or on the internet, the following phrases will help identify CML-specific results.
For the best results, use quotation marks as shown below to search those exact phrases.
"Chronic Myeloid Leukemia"
"Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia"
"Chronic Granulocytic Leukemia"
Online Consumer Health Sites
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.
Mayo Clinic is a nonprofit worldwide leader in medical care, research and education for people from all walks of life.
Databases
Health Source Consumer Edition
Health Source Consumer Edition is a consumer health database that provides access to content from popular health magazines, health-related pamphlets, and reference books. This resource requires a username and password.
Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health research, covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This resource requires a username and password.
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
In this 7-minute video, Dr. Ruben Mesa, a hematologist from the Mayo Clinic, provides an explanation of what Chronic Myeloid Leukemia is, how it impacts patients, and how it is treated.
Chronic Myeloid Leukemia: Medline Plus
This page is the main entry for Chronic Myeloid Leukemia (CML) on the Medline Plus website. The page includes how to identify symptoms, medications available for treatment, and other information to help when talking with your doctor.
The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society: Chronic Myeloid Leukemia
The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (LLS) is the world's largest voluntary (nonprofit) health organization dedicated to funding blood cancer research and providing education and patient services.
Additional information on symptoms, tests, and how to better understand the disease are linked below.
This page is intended only as an educational resource for patients and their families and friends seeking information on Chronic Myeloid Leukemia. This page is not a substitute for medical treatment or advice. If you are worried about your health, seek immediate medical care. Always discuss concerns with a health care professional.
While some of the resources featured on this page draw from freely accessible web sites, some databases are hosted by Texas Woman's University and require a login to gain access.
This site was created in fulfilment of the final exam for course LS5483 Consumer Health Information Resources by Candace Norton (cnorton3@twu.edu).
Clinical trials are research studies involving people. They are used to test and evaluate new drugs, treatment strategies, and medical devices to determine their safety for wider use by people. The links below provide an introduction to clinical trials in the treatment of CML, as well as a directory of all registered clinical trials in the United States.