LibGuides: English: ENG 1023: Popular Music

ENG 1023: Sources for Popular Music

Welcome!

This guide contains sources for research on the subject of Popular Music.

Click on the above tabs to find database sources for articles, library sources for books and electronic sources, and recommended websites.

Good luck in your research.

Databases

Use the TWU Library's subscription databases to locate articles on popular music and the rhetorical situation.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia covering all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present day.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Explore topics being debated in contemporary society.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts of articles, citations for book reviews, obituaries, and news articles about music, musicians and the music industry.
Oxford Music Online: Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia covering all music topics. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.

TWUniversal Advanced Search
To search for books, journal articles and more. If you don't find what you are looking for, I suggest you look at the subject guide for your discipline and there it will list the databases to find article.

To find books in the TWU Library's Online Catalog:

2. Enter your search term in the first search box, example: "Popular Music"

3. See the pull-down menu Resource Type, select Books or Electronic Books

4. Click on the Search button

Finding Music Books at the Blagg-Huey Library

For general books about music, browse the shelves at the following Library of Congress call numbers:

M - Music, printed or copied

ML - Music Literature

MT - Music Instruction and Study

Beyonce's 'Lemonade' and Information Resources
Beyonce's "Lemonade" is an hour and five minutes of music, poetry, and references to history, literature, and art. There were many artist collaborators and perceived influences included in Lemonade. This guide lists a few places to learn more about them and Beyoncé.
Girl Groups
The 1960s yielded one of pop music's most enjoyable trends, the "girl group" phenomenon. Starting in the 1950s as a trickle represented by the Hearts, the Blossoms, the Joytones, the Clickettes, the Deltairs, the Quintones, the Chantels, and the Bobbettes, it became a flood of groups in the 1960s, including the Shirelles, the Chiffons, the Shangri-Las, the Crystals, the Ronettes, the Angels, Reparata and the Delrons, the Exciters, the Cookies, the Supremes, the Marvelettes, and Patti Labelle and the Blue Belles.
Rock and Popular Music
Guide to resources for popular and rock musics through history, criticism, and analysis among others.

Writing and citing help can be found at these locations:

EasyBib: Student Writing Guides
--Research Guide
--Writing Guide
--Citation Guide
--Topics Guide
Purdue Owl
The owl in the Purdue Owl stands for Online Writing Lab (OWL). This is a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue University.
Writing & Citing

Citation Help

Keywords and Subject Terms on "Popular Music"