LibGuides: English: ENG 1023: Body Image

ENG 1023: Sources for "Body Image"

Welcome!

This guide contains sources for research on the subject of Body Image.

Want to know where to start your research? Click on the above tabs to find lists of books, journal titles and recommended databases, electronic sources and recommended reliable websites.

Good luck in your research and contact me if you would like assistance: Susan Whitmer, Librarian for the Humanities, swhitmer@twu.edu.

Body image is defined by health professional Carla Rice as "an individual's experience of his/her body. It is the mental picture a person has of his/her body as well as the individual's associated thoughts, feelings, judgments, sensations, awareness and behavior." Thus, body image is not just how one looks, but how one feels and acts in response to his or her perceived appearance. Body image changes over time. As Rice states, "Body image is not a static concept. It is developed through interactions with people and the social world, changing across life spans in response to changing feedback from the environment."

"Body Image." Current Issues: Macmillan Social Science Library. Detroit: Gale, 2010. Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context. Web. 5 Nov. 2012.

Databases

Use the TWU Library's subscription databases to locate articles on "Body Image."

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in gender, sexuality, and women's studies.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Explore topics being debated in contemporary society.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opinion pieces, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio about social issues.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in psychology.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology journal articles.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology research resource with gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racism, religion, and social work content.

To find books in the TWU Library's Online Catalog:

1. Use the TWU Library's online catalog

2. Enter your search term in the first search box, example: "Body Image"

3. See the pull-down menu Resource Type, select Books or Electronic Books

4. Click on the Search button

Finding Books at the Blagg-Huey Library

For general books about "body image," browse the shelves at the following Library of Congress call numbers:

BF 697 - Body Image

GT 495-499 - Human Body & Beauty

HF 5822 - Media/Ads & Image

HQ - Social aspects of gender and identity

These websites have been reviewed by a librarian and meet the criteria for a good website: Current, Relevant, Authoritative, Accurate, and Purpose.

National Institute of Mental Health
Contains statistics and other health information for topics like eating disorders and body image for people of all ages.
National Eating Disorders Association
For information related to body image and disorders, look for resources discussing the factors that contribute to eating disorders.
Planned Parenthood
In addition to other health-related topics, Planned Parenthood has resources for learning more about body image, its causes, and effects.
Our Bodies, Ourselves
Targeted mainly at women, this site is maintained by the Boston Women's Health Book Collective. It is an international organization whose mission is focused on promoting accurate information about women's health, including body image.
Womenshealth.gov
This website is managed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. It focuses specifically on issues affecting women's health including, but not limited to, body image.
Kidshealth.org
Maintained by The Nemours Foundation's Center for Children's Health Media, kidshealth.org includes information targeted for kids, teens, and parents.

Writing and citing help can be found at these locations:

EasyBib: Student Writing Guides
--Research Guide
--Writing Guide
--Citation Guide
--Topics Guide
Purdue Owl
The owl in the Purdue Owl stands for Online Writing Lab (OWL). This is a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue University.
Writing & Citing

Keywords on "Body Image"

Anorexia Nervosa
Body image
Body image AND media
Body image disturbance
Body Dysmorphic Disorder
Body image in adolescence
Body image in women
Bulimia
Eating disorders
Human body in mass media
Muscle Dysmorphia
Self-perception
Weight

English

Keywords on "Body Image"

Citation Help