LibGuides: Patient Education: Healthcare Professionals

Healthcare Professionals

Resources in Spanish

Las Guias Sumarias de los Consumidores
Evidence-Based health information guides for Spanish speaking consumers. Understand and compare risks, benefits, side effects of treatments for 8 health conditions. Useful when talking with clinicians.
more...less...
• Insulina premezclada para la diabetes tipo 2. Guía para adultos (Premixed Insulin for Type 2 Diabetes: A Guide for Adults);
• Tratamientos para el cholesterol alto. Guía para adultos (Treating High Cholesterol: A Guide for Adults)
• Osteoartritis de la rodilla. Guía para adultos (Osteoarthritis of the Knee: A Guide for Adults)
• Diabetes gestacional. Guía para la mujer embarazada (Gestational Diabetes: A Guide for Pregnant Women)
• Cuando se tiene una biopsia del seno. Guía para las mujeres y sus familias (Having a Breast Biopsy: A Guide for Women and Their Families)
• Ablación con radiofrecuencia para tartar la fibrilación auricular. Guía para adultos (Radiofrequency Ablation for Atrial Fibrillation: A Guide for Adults)
• Reduzca el riesgo de cáncer del seno con medicamentos. Guía para la mujer (Reducing the Risk of Breast Cancer With Medicine: A Guide for Women
• Está pensando que le induzcan el parto? Guía para la mujer embarazada (Thinking About Having Your Labor Induced? A Guide for Pregnant Women)
CuidadoDeSalud.gov
HealthCare.gov
US Dept of Health & Human Services
The first website in Spanish to help consumers take control of their healthcare by connecting them with new information and resources that will help them access quality, affordable healthcare coverage. Offers information about choices, cost, and what to expect.
MedlinePlus en Español
MedlinePlus es el sitio web de los Institutos Nacionales de la Salud para pacientes y sus familias y amigos. Producida por la Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina, MedlinePlus le brinda información sobre enfermedades, condiciones y bienestar en un lenguaje fácil de leer. MedlinePlus ofrece información confiable, actualizada en todo momento, en cualquier lugar y de forma gratuita.
A Su Salud: Health Information in Spanish
NAHC Library
South Texas College
Check the El Consultorio tab
Check the Conexion Migrante tab

Healthcare Reform: HITECH Act

HITECH Act
This page contains the table of contents for the entire HITECH Act text. If you are looking for a summary and commentary on the HITECH Act, click on the HITECH Act Summary below.
HITECH Act Summary
Summary of HITECH ACT and HIPPA.
Office for the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology
ONC is the principal Federal entity charged with coordination of nationwide efforts to implement and use the most advanced health information technology and the electronic exchange of health information. The position of National Coordinator was created in 2004, through an Executive Order, and legislatively mandated in the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act (HITECH Act) of 2009.
HIMSS Resource Library

CONSUMER HEALTH: Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health journals.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based medical information, clinical trials, and systematic reviews on the effectiveness of healthcare interventions.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Health information aimed at patients.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Medical journals, magazines, reference works, and images on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable reference books in multiple subject areas.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Recommended interface Medical information including nursing, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences, and dentistry, veterinary medicine.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based journal articles, citations, dissertations, reference materials, and clinical training videos in several healthcare topics aimed at students and those preparing for their career.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citation search for journal articles in health and life sciences. Links to full text and catalog search for availability.
STAT!Ref (now TDS Health) This link opens in a new window
Medical reference books and textbooks.
Mobile app access must be set up on the full website from a desktop computer and must be renewed from the full website every 6 months.
Salem Health This link opens in a new window
Reference books covering information on diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and medical issues.

Drug Information

Drug Digest
Noncommerical, evidence-based, consumer oriented drug information. Easy to read.
DailyMed
From the National Institutes of Health
National Library of Medicine
DrugBank Online
Comprehensive, free-to-access online database on drugs and drug targets.
Bioinformatics
Cheminformatics
Detailed sequence, structure, and pathway
Information for Consumers and Patients | Drugs
US Food & Drug Administration

#1 CONSUMER HEALTH (EBP) Website

Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
(AHRQ)

Healthy People 2020

Healthy People 2020

Healthy People 2020 provides a framework for prevention. This online resource is a statement of our National Objectives designed to identify the most significant preventable threats to health and to establish national goals to reduce these threats.

AHRQ Talking Quality

Talking Quality
(AHRQ / EBP)

Are you trying to help healthcare consumers choose high-quality plans, hospitals, doctors or other providers of care? Learn how to communicate quality information that's understandable and useful.