LibGuides: Vanderkooi Lecture: 2009

Kenneth Ottenbacher, PhD, OTR

Lecture title: The evolution of evidence-based practice: Implications for occupational therapy

Biography and Background

American Occupational Therapy Association 100 influential people: Kenneth J. Ottenbacher, PhD, OTR
Academy of Research in Occupational Therapy Profile: Kenneth Ottenbacher, PhD, OTR, FAOTA

Selected Publications

Journal articles

Al Snih, S., et al. (2023). Life expectancy in pre-frail and frail states with and without disability: 18 years of follow-up data from the HEPESE study using the Markov Chain Method. The Journal of Frailty & Aging, 12(4), 311-315.
Li, C., Kim, H., Downer, B., Lee, M., Ottenbacher, K., & Kuo, Y. (2023). Addressing non-response data for standardized post-acute functional items. BMC Health Services Research, 23(1), 955. *
Li, C., Arthur, P., Downer, B., Velozo, C., Kuo, Y., Tzeng, H., & Ottenbacher, K. (2022). Examining the clinical utility of the brief interview for mental status. Research in Gerontological Nursing, 15(3), 124-130.
Li, C., Mallinson, T., Kim, H., Graham, J., Kuo, Y., & Ottenbacher, K. (2022). Characterizing standardized functional data at inpatient rehabilitation facilities. Journal of the American Medical Directors Association, 23(11), 1845-1853.e5. *
Rivera-Hernandez, M., Kumar, A., Chou, L., et al. (2022). Healthcare utilization and costs among high-need and frail Mexican American Medicare beneficiaries. PloS One, 17(1), E0262079.
Downer, B., Al Snih, S., Chou, L., et al. (2021). Changes in health care use by Mexican American Medicare beneficiaries before and after a diagnosis of dementia. The Journals of Gerontology. Series A, Biological Sciences and Medical Sciences, 76(3), 534.
Stein, J., Katz, D., Black Schaffer, R., et al. (2021). Clinical performance measures for stroke rehabilitation: Performance measures from the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association. Stroke (1970), 52(10), E675-E700.
Howrey, B., Al Snih, S., Middleton, J., & Ottenbacher, K. (2020). Trajectories of frailty and cognitive decline among older Mexican Americans. The Journals of Gerontology. Series A, Biological Sciences and Medical Sciences, 75(8), 1551-1557.
Knox, S., Downer, B., Haas, A., et al. (2020). Dementia severity associated with increased risk of potentially preventable readmissions during home health care. Journal of the American Medical Directors Association, 21(4), 519-524.e3.
McGrath, R., Ottenbacher, K., Vincent, B., Kraemer, W., & Peterson, M. (2020). Muscle weakness and functional limitations in an ethnically diverse sample of older adults. Ethnicity & Health, 25(3), 342-353. *
Downer, B., Al Snih, S., Howrey, B., Raji, M., Markides, K., & Ottenbacher, K. (2019). Combined effects of cognitive impairment and pre-frailty on future frailty and death in older Mexican Americans. Aging & Mental Health, 23(10), 1405-1412.
Hong, I., Goodwin, J., Reistetter, T., et al. (2019). Comparison of functional status improvements among patients with stroke receiving postacute care in inpatient rehabilitation vs skilled nursing facilities. JAMA Network Open, 2(12), E1916646.
Nastars, D., Rojas, J., Ottenbacher, K., & Graham, J. (2019). Race/ethnicity and 30-day readmission rates in Medicare beneficiaries with COPD. Respiratory Care, 64(8), 931-936.
Ottenbacher, K., Graham, J., & Fisher, S. (2019). Data science in physical medicine and rehabilitation: Opportunities and challenges. Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Clinics of North America, 30(2), 459-471.
Li, S., Middleton, A., Ottenbacher, K., & Goodwin, J. (2018). Trajectories over the first year of long-term care nursing home residence. Journal of the American Medical Directors Association, 19(4), 333-341.
Middleton, A. et al. (2018). Functional status is associated with 30-day potentially preventable readmissions following skilled nursing facility discharge among Medicare beneficiaries. Journal of the American Medical Directors Association, 19(4), 348.
Middleton, A., Li, S., Kuo, Y., Ottenbacher, K., & Goodwin, J. (2018). New institutionalization in long‐term care after hospital discharge to skilled nursing facility. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society (JAGS), 66(1), 56-63.
Samper-Ternent, R., Reyes-Ortiz, C., Ottenbacher, K., & Cano, C. (2017). Frailty and sarcopenia in Bogotá: Results from the SABE Bogotá Study. Aging Clinical and Experimental Research, 29(2), 265-272. *
Swartz, M. et al. (2017). Effect of home- and community-based physical activity interventions on physical function among cancer survivors: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 98(8), 1652–1665.
Fisher, S. R., Graham, J. E., Ottenbacher, K. J., Deer, R., & Ostir, G. V. (2016). Inpatient walking activity to predict readmission in older adults. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 97(9 Suppl), S226–S231.
Baillargeon, J., Urban, R., Kuo, Y., Holmes, H., Raji, M., Morgentaler, A., Howrey, B., Lin, Y., & Ottenbacher, K. (2015). Screening and monitoring in men prescribed testosterone therapy in the U.S., 2001-2010. Public Health Reports (1974), 130(2), 143.
Baillargeon, J., Urban, R., Kuo, Y., Ottenbacher, K., Raji, M., Du, F., Lin, Y. L., & Goodwin, J. (2014). Risk of myocardial infarction in older men receiving testosterone therapy. The Annals of Pharmacotherapy, 48(9), 1138-1144.
Ottenbacher, K., Karmarkar, A., Graham, J., Kuo, Y., Deutsch, A., Reistetter, T., Al Snih, S., & Granger, C. (2014). Thirty-day hospital readmission following discharge from postacute rehabilitation in fee-for-service Medicare patients. JAMA, 311(6), 604.
Baillargeon, J., Urban, R., Ottenbacher, K., Pierson, K., & Goodwin, J. (2013). Trends in androgen prescribing in the United States, 2001 to 2011. JAMA Internal Medicine, 173(15), 1-2.
Fisher, S., Kuo, Y., Sharma, G., et al. (2013). Mobility after hospital discharge as a marker for 30-day readmission. The Journals of Gerontology. Series A, Biological Sciences and Medical Sciences, 68(7), 805-810.
Runzer-Colmenares, F., Samper-Ternent, R., Al Snih, S., Ottenbacher, K., Parodi, J., & Wong, R. (2013). Prevalence and factors associated with frailty among Peruvian older adults. Archives of Gerontology and Geriatrics, 58(1), 69-73.
Cano, C., Samper-Ternent, R., Al Snih, S., Markides, K., & Ottenbacher, K. (2012). Frailty and cognitive impairment as predictors of mortality in older Mexican Americans. The Journal of Nutrition, Health & Aging, 16(2), 142-147.
Graham, J. E., Karmarkar, A. M., & Ottenbacher, K. J. (2012). Small sample research designs for evidence-based rehabilitation: issues and methods. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 93(8 Suppl), S111–S116.
Ostir, G. V., Berges, I., Kuo, Y. F., Goodwin, J. S., Ottenbacher, K. J., & Guralnik, J. M. (2012). Assessing gait speed in acutely ill older patients admitted to an acute care for elders hospital unit. Archives of Internal Medicine, 172(4), 353–358.
Aranda, M., Ray, L., Snih, S., Ottenbacher, K., & Markides, K. (2011). The protective effect of neighborhood composition on increasing frailty among older Mexican Americans. Journal of Aging and Health, 23(7), 1189-1217.
Fisher, S., Goodwin, J., Protas, E., Kuo, Y., Graham, J., Ottenbacher, K., & Ostir, G. (2011). Ambulatory activity of older adults hospitalized with acute medical illness. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society (JAGS), 59(1), 91-95.
Fisher, S. R., Kuo, Y. F., Graham, J. E., Ottenbacher, K. J., & Ostir, G. V. (2010). Early ambulation and length of stay in older adults hospitalized for acute illness. Archives of Internal Medicine, 170(21), 1942–1943.
Granger, C. et al. (2010). The uniform data system for medical rehabilitation: Report of patients with traumatic brain injury discharged from rehabilitation programs in 2000-2007. American Journal of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, 89(4), 265-278. *
Raji, M., Al Snih, S., Ostir, G., Markides, K., & Ottenbacher, K. (2010). Cognitive status and future risk of frailty in older Mexican Americans. The Journals of Gerontology. Series A, Biological Sciences and Medical Sciences, 65A(11), 1228-1234.
Al Snih, S., Graham, J., Ray, L., Samper-Ternent, R., Markides, K., & Ottenbacher, K. (2009). Frailty and incidence of activities of daily living disability among older Mexican Americans. Journal of Rehabilitation Medicine, 41(11), 892-897.
Fisher, S., Ottenbacher, K., Goodwin, J., Graham, J., & Ostir, G. (2009). Short physical performance battery in hospitalized older adults. Aging Clinical and Experimental Research, 21(6), 445-452.
Graham, J., Snih, S., Berges, I., Ray, L., Markides, K., & Ottenbacher, K. (2009). Frailty and 10-year mortality in community-living Mexican American older adults. Gerontology (Basel), 55(6), 644-651.
Granger, C..et al. (2009). The uniform data system for medical rehabilitation: Report of patients with stroke discharged from comprehensive medical programs in 2000-2007. American Journal of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, 88(12), 961-972. *
Masel, M., Graham, J., Reistetter, T., Markides, K., & Ottenbacher, K. (2009). Frailty and health related quality of life in older Mexican Americans. Health and Quality of Life Outcomes, 7(1), 70.
Ottenbacher, K., Graham, J., Al Snih, S., et al. (2009). Mexican Americans and frailty: Findings from the Hispanic established populations epidemiologic studies of the elderly. American Journal of Public Health (1971), 99(4), 673-679.
Graham, J., Ostir, G., Fisher, S., & Ottenbacher, K. (2008). Assessing walking speed in clinical research: A systematic review. Journal of Evaluation in Clinical Practice, 14(4), 552-562. *
Graham, J. E., Ostir, G. V., Kuo, Y. F., Fisher, S. R., & Ottenbacher, K. J. (2008). Relationship between test methodology and mean velocity in timed walk tests: a review. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 89(5), 865–872.
Ostir, G., Berges, I., Ottenbacher, M., Clow, A., & Ottenbacher, K. (2008). Associations between positive emotion and recovery of functional status following stroke. Psychosomatic Medicine, 70(4), 404-409.
Ottenbacher, K., Campbell, J., Kuo, Y. F., Deutsch, A., Ostir, G. V., & Granger, C. (2008). Racial and ethnic differences in postacute rehabilitation outcomes after stroke in the United States. Stroke (1970), 39(5), 1514-1519.
Samper-Ternent, R., Al Snih, S., Raji, M., Markides, K., & Ottenbacher, K. (2008). Relationship between frailty and cognitive decline in older Mexican Americans. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society (JAGS), 56(10), 1845-1852.
Alfaro-Acha, A., Al Snih, S., Raji, M., Markides, K., & Ottenbacher, K. (2007). Does 8-foot walk time predict cognitive decline in older Mexicans Americans? Journal of the American Geriatrics Society (JAGS), 55(2), 245-251.
Al Snih, S., Ottenbacher, K., Markides, K., Kuo, Y., Eschbach, K., & Goodwin, J. (2007). The effect of obesity on disability vs mortality in older Americans. Archives of Internal Medicine (1960), 167(8), 774-780.
Graham, J., Stoebner-May, D., Ostir, G., Al Snih, S., Peek, M., Markides, K., & Ottenbacher, K. (2007). Health related quality of life in older Mexican Americans with diabetes: A cross-sectional study. Health and Quality of Life Outcomes, 5(1), 39.
Ostir, G., Kuo, Y., Berges, I., Markides, K., & Ottenbacher, K. (2007). Measures of lower body function and risk of mortality over 7 years of follow-up. American Journal of Epidemiology, 166(5), 599-605.
Alfaro-Acha, A., Snih, S., Raji, M., Kuo, Y., Markides, K., & Ottenbacher, K. (2006). Handgrip strength and cognitive decline in older Mexican Americans. The Journals of Gerontology. Series A, Biological Sciences and Medical Sciences, 61(8), 859-865.
Deutsch, A., Granger, C. V., Heinemann, A. W., et al. (2006). Poststroke rehabilitation: Outcomes and reimbursement of inpatient rehabilitation facilities and subacute rehabilitation programs. Stroke (1970), 37(6), 1477-1482.
Ostir, G., Berges, I., Markides, K., & Ottenbacher, K. (2006). Hypertension in older adults and the role of positive emotions. Psychosomatic Medicine, 68(5), 727-733. *
Ottenbacher, K., Ottenbacher, M., Ottenbacher, A., Acha, A., & Ostir, G. (2006). androgen treatment and muscle strength in elderly men: A meta-analysis. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society (JAGS), 54(11), 1666-1673.
Ostir, G., Smith, P., Smith, D., & Ottenbacher, K. (2005). Reliability of the Positive and Negative Affect Schedule (PANAS) in medical rehabilitation. Clinical Rehabilitation, 19(7), 767-769. *
Ottenbacher, K., Ostir, G., Peek, M., Snih, S., Raji, M., & Markides, K. (2005). Frailty in older Mexican Americans. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society (JAGS), 53(9), 1524-1531.
Raji, M., Kuo, Y., Snih, S., Markides, K., Kristen Peek, M., & Ottenbacher, K. (2005). Cognitive status, muscle strength, and subsequent disability in older Mexican Americans. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society (JAGS), 53(9), 1462-1468. *
Al Snih, S., Markides, K., Ottenbacher, K., & Raji, M. (2004). Hand grip strength and incident ADL disability in elderly Mexican Americans over a seven-year period. Aging Clinical and Experimental Research, 16(6), 481-486. *
Heyn, P., Abreu, B., & Ottenbacher, K. (2004). The effects of exercise training on elderly persons with cognitive impairment and dementia: A meta-analysis. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 85(10), 1694-1704.
Ostir, G., Ottenbacher, K., & Markides, K. (2004). Onset of frailty in older adults and the protective role of positive affect. Psychology and Aging, 19(3), 402-408. *
Ottenbacher, K., Ostir, G., Peek, M., et al. (2004). Diabetes mellitus as a risk factor for stroke incidence and mortality in Mexican American older adults. The Journals of Gerontology. Series A, Biological Sciences and Medical Sciences, 59(6), M640. *
Ottenbacher, K., Ottenbacher, H., Tooth, L., et al. (2004). A review of two journals found that articles using multivariable logistic regression frequently did not report commonly recommended assumptions. Journal of Clinical Epidemiology, 57(11), 1147. *
Ottenbacher, K., Smith, P., Illig, S., Linn, R., Ostir, G., & Granger, C. (2004). Trends in length of stay, living setting, functional outcome, and mortality following medical rehabilitation. JAMA, 292(14), 1687-1695.
Peek, M., Ray, L., Patel, K., Stoebner-May, D., & Ottenbacher, K. (2004). Reliability and validity of the SF-36 among older Mexican Americans. The Gerontologist, 44(3), 418-425.
Tooth, L. R., & Ottenbacher, K. J. (2004). The kappa statistic in rehabilitation research: an examination. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 85(8), 1371–1376.
Otiniano, M. et al. (2003). The effect of diabetes combined with stroke on disability, self-rated health, and mortality in older Mexican Americans: results from the Hispanic EPESE. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 84(5), 725–730.
Zhang, L., Abreu, B. C., Seale, G. S., et al. (2003). A virtual reality environment for evaluation of a daily living skill in brain injury rehabilitation: Reliability and validity. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 84(8), 1118-1124.
Ostir, G., Goodwin, J., Markides, K., Ottenbacher, K., Balfour, J., & Guralnik, J. (2002). Differential effects of premorbid physical and emotional health on recovery from acute events. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society (JAGS), 50(4), 713-718. *
Ottenbacher, K. J., Branch, L. G., Ray, L., et al. (2002). The reliability of upper- and lower-extremity strength testing in a community survey of older adults. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 83(10), 1423–1427.
Ziviani, J. et al. (2002). Concurrent validity of the WeeFIM(™) and the pediatric evaluation of disabilities inventory in children with developmental disabilities and acquired brain injuries. Physical & Occupational Therapy in Pediatrics, 21(2-3), 91. *
Abreu, B., Seale, G., Scheibel, R., et al. (2001). Levels of self-awareness after acute brain injury: How patients' and rehabilitation specialists' perceptions compare. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 82(1), 49-56.
Ottenbacher, K., Smith, P., Illig, S., Linn, R., Fiedler, R., & Granger, C. (2001). Comparison of logistic regression and neural networks to predict rehospitalization in patients with stroke. Journal of Clinical Epidemiology, 54(11), 1159-1165. *
Zhan, S., & Ottenbacher, K. J. (2001). Single subject research designs for disability research. Disability and Rehabilitation, 23(1), 1-8. *
Zhang, L., Abreu, B. C., Masel, B., et al. (2001). Virtual reality in the assessment of selected cognitive function after brain injury. American Journal of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, 80(8), 597-604. *
Ottenbacher, K. J., Msall, M. E., & Lyon, N. (2000). Measuring developmental and functional status in children with disabilities. Pediatric Physical Therapy, 12(4), 198–199.
Ottenbacher, K. J., Msall, M. E., Lyon, N., et al. (2000). The WeeFIM instrument: Its utility in detecting change in children with developmental disabilities. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 81(10), 1317–1326.
Mann, W. et al. (1999). Effectiveness of assistive technology and environmental interventions in maintaining independence and reducing home care costs for the frail elderly. A randomized controlled trial. Archives of Family Medicine, 8(3), 210-217.
Christiansen, C., Abreu, B., Ottenbacher, K., et al. (1998). Task performance in virtual environments used for cognitive rehabilitation after traumatic brain injury. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 79(8), 888-892.
Ottenbacher, K. (1998). Quantitative evaluation of multiplicity in epidemiology and public health research. American Journal of Epidemiology, 147(7), 615-619. *
Ottenbacher, K. et al. (1997). Interrater agreement and stability of the Functional Independence Measure for Children (WeeFIM): Use in children with developmental disabilities. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 78(12), 1309–1315.
Sperle, P. A., Ottenbacher, K. J., Braun, S. L., Lane, S. J., & Nochajski, S. (1997). Equivalence reliability of the functional independence measure for children (WeeFIM) administration methods. The American Journal of Occupational Therapy, 51(1), 35–41.
Ottenbacher, K., Taylor, E., Msall, M., et al. (1996). The stability and equivalence reliability of the functional independence measure for children (WeeFIM). Developmental Medicine and Child Neurology, 38(10), 907-916. *
Smith, P. M., Illig, S. B., Fiedler, R. C., et al. (1996). Intermodal agreement of follow-up telephone functional assessment using the Functional Independence Measure in patients with stroke. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 77(5), 431.
Stineman, M., Shea, J., Jette, A., et al. (1996). The Functional Independence Measure: Tests of scaling assumptions, structure, and reliability across 20 diverse impairment categories. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 77(11), 1101–1108.
Nourbakhsh, M., & Ottenbacher, K. (1994). The statistical analysis of single-subject data: A comparative examination. Physical Therapy, 74(8), 768-776. *
Ottenbacher, K. J., Mann, W. C., Granger, C. V., Tomita, M., Hurren, D., & Charvat, B. (1994). Inter-rater agreement and stability of functional assessment in the community-based elderly. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 75(12), 1297–1301
Willer, B., Ottenbacher, K. J., & Coad, M. L. (1994). The community integration questionnaire. A comparative examination. American Journal of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, 73(2), 103–111.
Ottenbacher, K. J., & Cusick, A. (1993). Discriminative versus evaluative assessment: some observations on goal attainment scaling. The American Journal of Occupational Therapy, 47(4), 349–354.
Ottenbacher, K. J., & Jannell, S. (1993). The results of clinical trials in stroke rehabilitation research. Archives of Neurology, 50(1), 37–44.
Ottenbacher K. J. (1990). Visual inspection of single-subject data: an empirical analysis. Mental Retardation, 28(5), 283–290.
Ottenbacher, K. J., & Cusick, A. (1990). Goal attainment scaling as a method of clinical service evaluation. The American Journal of Occupational Therapy, 44(6), 519–525.
Ottenbacher, K. J., Muller, L., Brandt, D., Heintzelman, A., Hojem, P., & Sharpe, P. (1987). The effectiveness of tactile stimulation as a form of early intervention: a quantitative evaluation. Journal of Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics, 8(2), 68.
Ottenbacher K. J. (1986). Reliability and accuracy of visually analyzing graphed data from single-subject designs. The American Journal of Occupational Therapy, 40(7), 464–469.
Ottenbacher, K. J., Biocca, Z., DeCremer, G., et al. (1986). Quantitative analysis of the effectiveness of pediatric therapy. Emphasis on the neurodevelopmental treatment approach. Physical Therapy, 66(7), 1095–1101.
Ottenbacher, K., & DiFabio, R. P. (1985). Efficacy of spinal manipulation/mobilization therapy. A meta-analysis. Spine, 10(9), 833–837.
Ottenbacher, K., & Cooper, H. (1983). Drug treatment of hyperactivity in children. Developmental Medicine and Child Neurology, 25(3), 358-366. *
Ottenbacher K. (1982). Sensory integration therapy: Affect or effect. The American Journal of Occupational Therapy, 36(9), 571–578.

Books

Evaluating clinical change: Strategies for occupational and physical therapists by Kenneth J. Ottenbacher *
Publication Date: 1986
Scientific inquiry: Design and analysis issues in occupational therapy by Kenneth J. Ottenbacher; Bette Bonder *
Publication Date: 1986
Vestibular processing dysfunction in children by Kenneth J. Ottenbacher; Margaret A. Short Degraft *
Publication Date: 1985

* Resource available through TWU Libraries.