Skip to main content

Getting Started at the Library

Need additional assistance?

Abby Morris's picture
Abby Morris
Contact:
Blagg-Huey Library, Denton
940-898-3758

Library Locations and Hours

TWU Blagg-Huey Library

P.O. Box 425528 
Denton, TX 76204
(940)898-3701

TWU Dallas Center Library

5500 Southwestern Medical Avenue
Dallas, TX 75235
(214) 689-6500 

TWU Academic Resource Center (ARC)

6700 Fannin Street
Houston, TX 77030
(713) 794-2048

Welcome to the TWU Libraries

Whether you are taking classes online or at one of our three campuses, the TWU Libraries are here to help you. This guide will help you get started using the library. Remember we are available to help by email, text, chat, or phone, so let us know how we can help you use the TWU Libraries.  

Finding Library Resources

How to Find an Article:

1. Choose a database to search.

2. If available, go to the Advanced Search function in the database you are using. This allows for more relevant and precise searching.

3. If available, use a Subject search term instead of a keyword. This will give you results about your topic instead of results that merely mention your search term.

  • Start with a broad/general subject search term.
  • If you have too many results, add another search term and/or use limiters (Date, Publication Type, etc.).
  • If you have too few or no results, try other search terms or use a keyword search and look for subject terms within those results that can be used in a new subject search.

4. Read abstracts and subject terms associated with the article to determine whether it will be relevant to your research.

5. If you have any trouble accessing the full-text version of an article, contact the library for assistance.

Phone: (940) 898-3701.  Email: reference@mail.twu.edu

 

To choose the most appropriate database for your search:

Use the TWU Libraries Subject Guides for suggested databases for your research topic.

1. Visit the TWUniversal Catalog to begin an advanced search.

TWUniversal Advanced Search

2. Change the Resource Type to Books

TWUniversal Resource Type Books

3. Enter your search terms into the search fields. If you have more than one term, enter each separate term or phrase into a new line. 

4. If a book in your results looks interesting, click Details to view its table of contents to help determine whether it will be useful.

5. If you do not get any results, try using broader or fewer search terms. If you get too many search results, try using more specific or additional terms. 

There is not one right way to search a topic, so try different combinations of terms and phrases to see what works best for your topic. Remember, you can always Ask-A-Librarian for help. 

The library has over 30 databases with video content, as well as the option to search TWUniversal by Media/Streaming. You can follow the same steps with a book search, but choose the Media/Streaming under Resource Type to find videos. 

In the A-Z Databases you can also search "video" in the search box on the top right corner to find databases with video resources available.

Here are links to the A-Z Database Page and some selected video databases. Please note, you can find many additional databases with video content not listed in the direct links below by searching the A-Z Databases. 

To find audio content in TWUniversal, you can use the Advanced Search option and search by Media/Streaming. You can follow the same steps with a book search, but choose the Media/Streaming under Resource Type to find videos. 

 

To find newspaper content in TWUniversal, search for a topic as suggested in the advanced search option. On the left hand side you will see the option to Refine My Results: Resource Type, if there are newspaper articles in your search results, you can choose those as an option. You may need to click "More Options" to see Newspaper Articles."

Below you will find a link to the A-Z list of Databases. You can use it to search for a variety of newspaper databases by using the search box on the top right. You will also find a list of just a few the popular newspaper databases in the TWU libraries.