Skip to Main Content

Getting Started at the Library

Video / Audio / Media

Where to Search for Media

TWUniversal

TWUniversal is a tool to search TWU's physical and digital collections all at once. Here is how to find videos, music and images using TWUniversal.

1) Start by entering a search word or the title of a specific video or other media.

Screenshot of TWUniversal search screen. In the search bar is the word "poverty" with an arrow pointing to it.

2) When you search by pressing ENTER or clicking the search button (magnifying glass), your research results will include books, articles, media and more. To refine your results to what you need, use the filter for Content Type and select the type of media you're looking for (e.g. Audio, Images or Media / Streaming).

Screenshot of the Content Type filter and its options. The content types are listed alphabetically. There are arrows pointing to the content types Audio, Images and Media / Streaming.

3) Once you've chosen one or more filters, find a search result you're interested in and click its title.

Screenshot of a video search result in TWUniversal. At the top of the search result is the title of the video, which is a hyperlink that can be clicked. An arrow is pointing to the hyperlinked title.

4) After clicking the title, scroll down the page to the View It section. Near the words "Full text" is the name of the database where you can access the full video. Click the database name to go to the database.

Screenshot of the View It section of a search result whose title has been clicked. An arrow points to the words "Full text: Academic Video Online (AVON)"

5) After clicking the database name, you may be asked to log in. Use the same TWU Portal username and password that you use to log in to other TWU systems.

Screenshot of log-in screen for library resources. In large text are the words "Welcome to TWU Libraries Online Resources." Beneath that is a prompt to enter your Portal username and password. For the username, use only your username, not your full email address. For example, "JPioneer" not "JPioneer@twu.edu."

 

Now you should be able to access the video, audio file or image you were looking for! If you are unable to access the content or need help, please contact the library or your subject librarian.

Databases

A database is a searchable collection of information. Databases can contain articles, books, images, videos, audio and more. Here is how to find databases that focus on media such as videos, music and images.

1) In the A-Z Databases list, click the "All Database Types" drop-down menu and select the type of database you need: Image, Music Streaming or Video Streaming.

Screenshot of the A-Z Databases page. At the top are three drop-down menus. The first is "All Subjects" and the second is "All Database Types" which has been clicked and has the drop-down menu opened. Arrows point to the menu options titled "Image (37)" "Music Streaming (3)" and "Video Streaming (49)"

2) From here, you can browse database titles. To access a database, click the database title you're interested in. If there are too many databases to choose from, type a simple search word such as "dance" or "nursing" in the search bar to narrow your results.

Screenshot of A-Z Databases list page. At the top of the page, after three drop-down menu filter options, is the database search bar. The word "dance" is in the search bar, and an arrow is pointing to it.

3) After clicking a database name, you may be asked to log in. Use the same TWU Portal username and password you use to log in to other TWU systems.

Screenshot of log-in screen for library resources. In large text are the words "Welcome to TWU Libraries Online Resources." Beneath that is a prompt to enter your Portal username and password. For the username, use only your username, not your full email address. For example, "JPioneer" not "JPioneer@twu.edu."