Skip to Main Content

Occupational Therapy - Houston

Occupational Therapy Subject Guide for the Houston Campus

Houston Library Manager MLS, AHIP-D

Profile Photo
Marilyn M. Goff
She, her, hers
Contact:
Houston Center Library
6700 Fannin Room 4132
Houston, TX 77030-2343


mgoff@twu.edu
Phone/Text/Fax 713.794.2481
Website

Hours of Operation

HOURS SUBJECT TO CHANGE

The Houston Campus Library (Room 4132) is open during regular semester as noted on the library calendars page.

Telephone 713.794.2048

Email staff for assistance

jquintero1@twu

mgoff@twu.edu

Happy Summer and Fall 2022 Semester!

Closed 5 Sep Labor Day

Health Sciences Librarian José Luis Quintero

We  have Mr. José Luis Quintero, our Health Sciences Librarian. He will help you find books and journal articles, locate the best databases for your research and projects, and to help you find all the information you need to make the best grades and get your efforts understood. Fluent in Spanish and English, he is also a current TWU SLIS Graduate student. You can contact him at jquintero1@twu.edu or 713-794-2485. He usually works 9AM-6PM M-F.

Library News and Technical Issues

In Fall and Spring semesters, the Houston Library offers you TWU "Freestyle Fridays."  From 10-4 on Fridays, we will offer coloring, painting, puzzles, knitting, checkers and more to help you relax and have fun!

Remember in the event of a storm, the Houston TWU building has designated shelter in place parts of the building illustrated here

The TWU library homepage, the Twitter handle @TWULibrary and the Facebook page show updates on library news, as well as reports on technical issues and content changes regarding library resources. Databases may have temporary downtimes. 

Did you know that Medicare is 57 years old?  See Medicare for information.

September Selected Celebrations

Attendance Awareness Month

Blood Cancer Awareness Month

Childhood Cancer Awareness Month

Civil Service Month

Healthy Aging Month

National Food Safety Education Month

National Service Dog Month

Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month

2 National Day of Vietnam, VJ Day

4-10 Suicide Prevention Week

5 U.S. Labor Day, Migraine Awareness Week

6 National Read a Book Day 

8 International Literacy Day, World Physical Therapy Day

10 German Language Day 

11 Libraries Remember Day, Patriot's Day

13 National Celiac Disease Awareness Day 

15 El Grito De Dolores Hidalgo Day, Hispanic Heritage Month

17 U.S. Constitution Day

19 Talk Like a Pirate Day

20 U.S. National Voter Registration Day 

Dr. Sophie Lin Rydin School of Occupational Therapy Houston 

The School of Occupational Therapy is directed by Dr. Mary Frances Baxter, mbaxter@twu.edu, 713.794.2321

FACULTY: Would you like to put materials on Library Reserve or available electronically 24/7? If yes, click HERE

Welcome!

Welcome to the TWU Libraries' Occupational Therapy subject guide. Here, you will find relevant and pertinent resources including databases, journals, and other information resources to help you find the information you need. Please use the page listings on the left to navigate through the guide.

 

Refresh Your Research Skills Here

Please click to view the brief tutorial included below, which will assist you in learning the best search practices! 

Quick slideshow listing helpful OT Houston webpages at OT Slideshow

A general, self-paced guide to Houston Library resources is HERE

Check out the Additional Spaces:

Need a quiet spot to study? Quiet carrels & tables for single or group study here!

Need a break? Come take a 20 minute power nap @ our Houston Nap Pod 

User Guide

Remember your TWU Librarians who are available for appointments. For Students, you will learn how to locate information and use tools well for future information needs in a self-sufficient way. For Faculty & Staff, information will be provided to you.

Databases and Journals: Recommendations for databases and journals to use for research.

Books and Videos: Information on reserve items, notable books and videos, as well as FAQs on requesting a book. 

Occupational Therapy Organizations: Listings of local and national OT and related organizations.

Houston Campus Library: Important information about the Houston Campus Library. 

Writing & Citing: How to cite sources in your assignments. 

Want a quick Slide Guide? see OT slideshow

I Need a Few Good Articles, Please!

First, get your subject in mind, like "Could obesity be caused by a virus?" This is the most important step (and the hardest)

Next, try the world's biggest health sciences database, called PubMed. Do an Advanced (click it) search; input obesity, click ADD input viruses, click ADD & click Search. Refine the results on the left of the Results page by year (last 5 years) full text, language, ages, controlled clinical trials or whatever you prefer to find a few good articles.

Click Send to and send to your RefWorks account to help design a beautiful References list to attach to your great paper.

What are Qualitative, Quantitative and Mixed Methods in Research Data?

What is research, and what is qualitative versus quantitative research? What is mixed methods research? Many different homework assignments ask the student to locate qualitative research or quantitative research articles.  See https://www.atsdr.cdc.gov/communityengagement/pce_program_methods.html for some definitions. The British Library has a site describing qualitative research.   Also, the US PubMed Central data source has an article describing qualitative research.  Mixed methods research, a combination of different types of research, can be studied at a  US National Institutes of Health information source here.  Many resources throughout the world concern themselves with ethical research conduct, including how to carefully manage individuals who are the subject of research and clinical trials (see NIH Clinical Research Trials and You). The US National Institutes of Health and also the Australian government display a National Statement on Ethical Conduct in Human Research, and the UK government has much information concerning the National Health Service Health Research Authority and more. 

Houston Center Library Materials

The Houston Center Library Room 4132 (at the Houston campus) has books from TWU's School of Business, Department of Health Care Administration, School of Nursing, Department of Nutrition & Food Sciences, School of Occupational Therapy and the School of Physical Therapy, also.  Available for Houston TWU faculty, staff, and students to consult in the library, all of these materials (books, audiovisuals and journals) are specially selected and added to the collection by your faculty and staff. There is a pc/scanner available to print in b&w or color at the adjacent Mega Computer Lab. The Library also has Laptops and Chromebooks  for checkout.  Most of these materials are available to you to check out during hours of operation,  so come browse the different collections and see what the Houston library has to offer you.

Please know that "Textbooks, reference, non-circulating, media materials, and Houston Reserve Items may not be requested through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)."

Houston's TWU building has shelter in place locations in the event of a storm, here.

Getting Published

Let TWU help you to get published in reputable sources

Consult the initial process at Sharing Your Research and more detail at Publishing Your Research and find information about the Directory of Open Access Journals the Creative Commons network at https://network.creativecommons.org/about/ and organizations like SPARC. Once you know where and how you want to get published, be careful to work with only the best quality publishers who will make your work shine!

Houston Center Library Nap Pod

Houston Center Library has a wonderful nap pod for you to take a 20 minute power nap; come give it a try!

Therapy Dogs Visit

     

On Monday 29 November, Bright and Beautiful Therapy Dogs visited the TWU Houston lobby, sponsored by the Houston Library and Houston Student Life.  Some 100 TWU faculty, staff, and  students came to greet them and their owner/trainers and learned all about therapy dogs and their use in health care. These highly trained therapy dogs regularly visit prisons, hospitals, long term care facilities and other sites.  They help children and adults and patients suffering from PTSD, adjusting to amputations, those with emotional distress, and other conditions.

 

Coronavirus COVID-19 & Smallpox/Monkeypox Information

 You may request one COVID test kit per address from the United States Postal Service, starting 19 January 2022. Go to   https://special.usps.com/testkits to order.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention COVID and Smallpox/Monkeypox information

US White House statement on Monkeypox

State of Texas Coronavirus Disease COVID-19 Resources and Monkeypox Resources

City of Houston COVID, Monkeypox  Resources and information on pollen and other health data

 

The US National Center for Post Traumatic Distress is at the US Veteran's Administration for everyone to access: https://www.ptsd.va.gov/index.asp

Self-Care

You need to keep healthy for success.

What is your BMI?

What annual tests do you need?

How is your diet?