Databases and Journals - Occupational Therapy - Houston - LibGuides at Texas Womans University

PubMed/Mesh Simplified Search 2022

PubMed is the largest Health Sciences (that includes Health Care Administration, Nursing, Nutrition, Food Sciences, Occupational Therapy and Physical Therapy) database in the world, in any language, so searching it can save research time. Enter PubMed Database then click Advanced. Enter a term (obesity) and click ADD. On the right, click ADD then Search to see results page. At the results screen, click limits on the left including Full text, Publication date (5 years) Humans and English as preferred. Clicking additional filters lets you limit by article type, ages of the subjects, and more. Click an article title, then Find It @TWU button and input your Pioneer Portal to open full text or to submit an interlibrary loan request. Click email to send. One method to save the citation(s) to your RefWorks account is to choose citations in your screen, click Send to then Citation Manager and select citations to Create File and save to your desktop. Open your RefWorks account, and Import a file from your computer by finding the file you saved on your desktop with Add and Import References. PubMed database changed in January, 2020 with streamlined searching. Video on PubMed 2022 is available here. See PubMed training here.

Learn About Plagiarism, Databases & Library Research

Take Tutorials in Canvas on Avoiding Plagiarism and Library Research Here
Learn PubMed Database Searching Here
Learn the current Version of PubMed Here
Learn RefWorks Bibliographic Citation Management Here
Be sure to know RefWorks

Help

Find journal articles fast in PubMed with this guide

Databases

Are a collection of journal articles, books and more, combined with a search engine to help locate evidence based, highly authoritative materials for student and faculty educational and research. A brief EBSCO video training on some of the databases is available here. For an Occupational Therapy interest, see the list of databases offered on this page and for a complete listing of all databases, please review our A to Z List of Databases.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.

CINAHL Complete
Offers access to journals related to nursing and allied health, with full-text coverage for more than 1,400 journals. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, dissertations, standards of practice, and more.
Cochrane Library
Includes reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Provides information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. Consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal cases in all aspects of healthcare.

OT Search
This database will be paused April 30, 2022. This is an indexing database covering the literature of occupational therapy and related subject areas, such as rehabilitation, education, psychiatry or psychology, and health care delivery or administration.
OT Seeker
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability. These ratings will help you to judge the quality and usefulness of trials for informing clinical interventions. In one database, OTseeker provides you with fast and easy access to trials from a wide range of sources.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 4 million bibliographic records centered on psychology and related disciplines.
PubMed
PubMed contains more than 32 million citations for occupational therapy, biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
ScienceDirect
1,500+ scientific, engineering, technical and medical peer-reviewed journals and 11,000 books. Contains scientific journal articles, citations, and full-text articles.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and more.
SPORTDiscus
SPORTDiscus offers literature for sports and sports medicine research, with access to over 600 full-text journals. Subjects include clinical specialties such as orthopedics, coaching and education, consumer health, exercise science and fitness, physical education and therapy, and more.
SpringerLink
Springer is home to some of the most respected, trusted and influential journal brands, spanning all subject areas. *Some of the Journals included may only be searchable within this Database.

Coverage note: TWU Libraries may not subscribe to all titles on this platform: full access is not guaranteed. If you wish to obtain a copy of something the library does not have access to, please submit an Interlibrary Loan request.

Symptom Media is a Channel within Academic Video Online. See here:

https://video-alexanderstreet-com.ezp.twu.edu/channel/symptom-media

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Here you can learn which libraries own what materials. The scope is worldwide, including libraries like the US Library of Congress, the National Library of Germany, and more. You find many freely available downloadable documents here. This is the database to use to help you decide which libraries you might want to visit (and use your TexShare card, in Texas).

DARE: Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
DARE includes systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health and social care interventions and the delivery and organisation of health and social care services. Also included are reviews of the wider determinants of health such as housing, and transport where these impact directly on health, or have the potential to impact on health and wellbeing. (Database ceased indexing new articles in 2015)
EBRSR: Evidence-Based Review of Stroke Rehabilitation
Evidence-Based Review of Stroke Rehabilitation aims to maintain timely and accurate information on effective stroke rehabilitation, identify ideas for further research, support continuous peer-review and encourage improved evidence-based practice.
HSRProj
A database of citations to research-in-progress funded by federal and foundation grants and contracts. It includes over 32,000 citations to ongoing or recently completed research funded since 2000.
REHABDATA
The REHABDATA database, maintained by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, spans almost 50 years of disability and rehabilitation research. More than 200,000 abstracts are available through this database, including approximately 115,000 records originally indexed by CIRRIE (Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange).
Repository@TWU
Repository@TWU is a repository of scholarly products that inform the disciplines of academia and the larger community. Repository@TWU is another means of highlighting and disseminating scholarly contributions by providing free and unrestricted access to the TWU community and beyond.

EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service
EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
OregonPDF in Health & Performance
OregonPDF in Health & Performance cooperates with colleges and universities throughout the world to make available graduate dissertations and theses in areas related to health and performance. There are almost 11,000 dissertations and theses, with a goal of adding between 100 and 150 each year.
PQDT: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
ProQuest Dissertation & Theses offers a curated collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, with 5 million citations and 2.5 million full-text works from thousands of universities.
TWU Dissertations & Theses
Collection of dissertations and theses uploaded to Repository@TWU.

If you need to locate a test with internal validity and reliability, use these databases listed below to search for your subject (such as hand strength) and find articles that discuss the reliability and validity of those tests. You may need to obtain access to the full-text version through one of our databases, through TWU Library Search.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Evaluation and measurement tools in health and psychosocial studies, questionnaires, checklists, rating scales, tests. Information is abstracted from hundreds of journals.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Contains full-text information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Limit of 4 concurrent users; if you receive a turnaway error, please try again later.
Rehabilitation Measures Database
View descriptions, instructions, and bibliographies for over 300 rehabilitation instruments.

Journals

These lists of journals represent a core selection that pertain to the subject area. If you wish to find more journals, please look in our Journal Search.