Skip to main content

Nutrition and Food Sciences - Houston

The Houston NFS student, faculty and staff will find practical information on nutrition and food sciences.

Learn About Plagiarism, Databases & Library Research

  • Take Tutorials in Canvas on Avoiding Plagiarism and Library Research Here

  • Learn PubMed Database Searching Here

  • Learn the 2020 Version of PubMed Here

  • Learn RefWorks Bibliographic Citation Management Here

 

APA 7th and 6th Edition Style Help

The new American Psychological Association (APA) Publication Manual, (APA) 7th edition Introduction is available here: https://apastyle.apa.org/products/publication-manual-7th-edition-introduction.pdf

A new 7th edition of the Publication Manual has been available for preorder as of October 2019. A copy is available in each TWU library.

The American Psychological Association (APA) Publication Manual, 6th edition, published in 2010, has been updated.  This update is available through TWU Libraries.

 

Please consult with your faculty for the appropriate style manual to use for your class.

Evidence Based Practice PICO Worksheet

Use the EBP Worksheet above to define your research question using PICO(T).

Identify:
Problem
Intervention
Comparison Groups
Outcomes

 EBMcalc Statistics Tools

STATISTICS  Tools

TDS STAT!Ref : EBMcalc

Here are medical formulas, decision tree analyses and clinical criteria sets.

To access these tools, login to the STAT!Ref database, then scroll down the screen to EBMcalc. Click on Introduction to get started

See resources including Unit conversions (Area, Basic Unit, Benzodiazepine dosing, Energy, etc.), Math Calculator, Allowable Blood Loss, Cardiac Output, Estimated Blood Volume, Apgar Score, Caprini DVT Risk Score, Gupta Perioperative Risk Estimate and more.

Tools include the following and MORE:


Medical Equations:
  - Bayesian Statistics I & II MultiCalc

  - Confidence Interval of Survey
  - False Negative Rate from Sensitivity and
     Prevalence

  - Kappa Measurement of Inter-observer
      Agreement

  - Likelihood Ratio of Positive from Raw Data
  - Negative Predictive Value of a Test
  - Odds Ratio and Relative Risk
  - Risk Education / Number Needed to Treat
  - Survey Sample Size with Population Correction
  - Z Score to Percentile Estimation, etc.

Take a Nap!

TWU Libraries, in conjunction with the Student Union, Student Services and Student Life,  have a nap pod for you to use for 20 minute power naps in the ARC

. 

Former ARC Library Student Assistant and MOTS Ms Kristen McManus demonstrates the nap pod use

I Need a Few Good Articles, Please!

First, get your subject in mind, like "Could obesity be caused by a virus?" This is the most important step (and the hardest)

Next, try the world's biggest health sciences database, called PubMed. Do an Advanced (click it) search; input obesity, click ADD input viruses, click ADD & click Search. Refine the results on the left of the Results page by year (last 5 years) full text, language, ages, controlled clinical trials or whatever you prefer to find a few good articles.

Click Send to and send to your RefWorks account to help design a beautiful References list to attach to your great paper.

PubMed Searching Management

Getting Published Info

Locate great places to publish at Ulrich's Periodicals Database. You can input a subject like functional foods and find a list of authoritative, peer-reviewed journals and information about how you can get published with them.

At http://libguides.twu.edu/c.php?g=270205&p=1803134 you can find information on open access publishing, including the Repository @ TWU.. You can learn more about open access at the Directory of Open Access Journals (see https://doaj.org/aboutPLOS at Creative Commons (at https://creativecommons.org/about/) and at resources like SPARCalid.

Please be careful. It can be difficult to identify valid, peer-reviewed, authoritative journals in the mass of a business model that has publication offers popping up constantly in your email. Many appeals to the potential author appear, on the surface, to be scholarly, valid research organs of communication, but careful research reveals that the appeals are actually something else. Please ask your librarian for help or do the research yourself.

                                                                                                 

To determine if an offer to be published is the kind of high quality journal you seek, library scientists have produced some helpful resources. Take the title and any other information you have about the title and start your search. Trust, but verify.

  EBP Pyramid - Filtered

EBM Pyramid
Filtered / UnFiltered

ebmpyramid.org

  Evidence Pyramid

healthlinks.washington.eduCochrane Library Evidence Pyramid:

 

Look Local

Look for local county or parishes to find statical data on information, sometimes down to the block level.  You can find data similar to 'the number of white women aged 18-30 who gave birth in X year" this way.  Look for local charity organizations (United Way, America's Charities, etc.) to find more data.

My Government Representatives

To find out who represents you locally, statewide and at the Federal level: You can connect with those who represent you and give them your hopes and opinions:

 

  MedCalc 3000 Practice Tools

PRACTICE Tools

STAT!Ref : MedCalc 3000


A unique computerized medical reference and tool set for clincians, medical educators, nurses, and healthcare students.

Contains easy to use, interactive tools for the reduction / elimination of medical errors and for application of evidence-based medicine.

To access these tools, login to the STAT!Ref database:

STAT!Ref
database > Resources tab > 
        MedCalc 3000 > choose a link
                              (math calculator, etc.)

Tools include the following and MORE:

Unit & Dosage Converters
     - Flow Unit Conversion
     - Benzodiazepine Dosage Conversion
     - Opioid Medication Dose Conversion, etc.

Math Calculator
     - uses either Common or Reverse Polish Notation (similar to HP calculators.) The X register holds your answer when the calculation is complete. To add 1 + 2 in RPN style, click "1" then hit "ENTER", then "2", then "+"

Medical Equations
     - Absolute Neutrophil Count
     - Adult Burn Injury Fluid Resuscitation
     - Body Surface Area (DuBois Method)
     - Kt/V Dialysis Dose Formulae, etc.

Clinical Criteria
     - Acetamenophen Toxicity Assessment
     - Apgar Score
     - Cesarean Section Delivery Probablity, etc.

Decision Trees
     - Diabetes Screening TreeCalc
     - Stage III Pressure Ulcer TreeCalc,
     - Obesity Management Guidelines TreeCalc etc.

Specialty Pages
     - Harris-Benedict Estimation of Basal Energy Expenditure, EDD Pregnancy Calculator, etc.

MedCalc Connect
     - Integratie MedCalc 3000 Results into EMRs through Text or XML
     - Analyzing Lab Results with MedCalc 3000 Equations
     - The MedCalc Connect! Equation Parameter Catalog