Skip to main content

Nutrition and Food Sciences - Houston

The Houston NFS student, faculty and staff will find practical information on nutrition and food sciences.

Finding Library Materials

In Houston, you have  textbooks, items on reserve for this semester's classes, and many internet-accessible full text resources available through purchased library data sources. These sources and databases (like PubMed, CINAHL, Academic Source) have electronic copies of books and articles plus a search engine to allow you to find and retrieve the information you need.  These materials are available from any internet-accessible device 24/7 and allow you to download, save, print, email and export information to your printer, flash drive, an email address, a bibliographic manager like RefWorks and more.  Your ARC librarians and staff help you find these materials during campus Orientations. If you need additional help, please email for an appointment to help you learn how to locate the information your professors want you to find for your classes.

As a Houston TWU faculty, staff, or student, you have electronic and physical access to TWU library resources and more that support your TWU Houston studies, so come let us help you find the resources you need to succeed!

Your Houston faculty have provided their personal Departmental libraries for your checkout in the Academic Resource Center.  Audiovisual items are also available for one week checkout. Items on reserve for the semester can be used with your TWU ID badge for checkout. Faculty departmental books and videos in Business, Health Care Administration, Nursing, Nutrition and Food Science. Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy and the College of Business are available to loan at the periods your faculty want them loaned to you. 

We also have one group study room, study carrels, a nap pod, Chromebooks,  headphones, pencil sharpeners, paper cutter, heavy duty staplers, and electric three hole punchers.

To find genealogical information, Cyndi's List, contains census and family history information. The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection, the The Gateway to Women's History, and various newspapers like the New York Times Archive provide much historical data, as do the Handbook of Texas and Texas Digital Sanborn Maps. 

Houston ARC

Located at the Houston Center, 6700 Fannin, the Academic Resource Center is in room 4132, just behind the mega computer lab. We support Business, Health Care Administration, Library Science, Nursing, Nutrition and Food Sciences, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy,  and other departments at the Houston campus. We have a 24 August July of the facility.  Please contact us by our emails for best results in reaching us during our posted working hours (see HOURS).  We are available to help you!

   

 

With COVID-19 concerns, many procedures are temporarily modified, so check with us before you visit to come watch a video, borrow a Chrome book, headphones or use  study areas! We do have a limited number of your current textbooks for all-semester to a two hour loan. Come use the paper cutter and pencil sharpeners. Get help finding useful information. 

Come check out one of your faculty's personal Departmental collection of books. Check out standardized tests (BUS, HCA, NCLEX, HESI, OT, PT and other) study books, testing and training videos to keep you sharp!

Please know that Houston Reserve Items may not be requested through Inter Library Loan (ILL).

 

Take a Nap!

TWU Libraries, in conjunction with the Student Union, Student Services and Student Life,  have a nap pod for you to use for 20 minute power naps in the ARC

. 

Former ARC Library Student Assistant and MOTS Ms Kristen McManus demonstrates the nap pod use