Skip to Main Content

Health Care Administration: Houston

Health care administration research guide for TWU students, faculty and staff.

Hours of Operation

HOURS SUBJECT TO CHANGE

The Houston Campus Library (Room 4132) is open during regular semester as noted on the library calendars page.

Telephone 713.794.2048

Email staff for assistance

jquintero1@twu

mgoff@twu.edu

Happy Summer and Fall 2022 Semester!

Closed 5 Sep Labor Day

September Selected Celebrations

Attendance Awareness Month

Blood Cancer Awareness Month

Childhood Cancer Awareness Month

Civil Service Month

Healthy Aging Month

National Food Safety Education Month

National Service Dog Month

Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month

2 National Day of Vietnam, VJ Day

4-10 Suicide Prevention Week

5 U.S. Labor Day, Migraine Awareness Week

6 National Read a Book Day 

8 International Literacy Day, World Physical Therapy Day

10 German Language Day 

11 Libraries Remember Day, Patriot's Day

13 National Celiac Disease Awareness Day 

15 El Grito De Dolores Hidalgo Day, Hispanic Heritage Month

17 U.S. Constitution Day

19 Talk Like a Pirate Day

20 U.S. National Voter Registration Day 

Health Sciences Librarian José Luis Quintero

We  have Mr. José Luis Quintero, our Health Sciences Librarian. He will help you find books and journal articles, locate the best databases for your research and projects, and to help you find all the information you need to make the best grades and get your efforts understood. Fluent in Spanish and English, he is also a current TWU SLIS Graduate student. You can contact him at jquintero1@twu.edu or 713-794-2485. He usually works 9AM-6PM M-F.

CDC Outpatient Infection Prevention Guide and Checklist

Outpatient Care Providers

Self-Care

You need to keep healthy for success.

What is your BMI?

What annual tests do you need?

How is your diet?

Welcome to the Program in Health Care Administration Subject Guide!

Welcome to the Program in Health Care Administration (HCA)  Guide! Here are some resources: Click on the tabs above to help you with Masters of Healthcare Administration specific research. You can use this guide to find information on:

A general TWU self-paced guide to finding information here

Health Care Administration DIY Houston Library Overview

Articles/Databases: Access to research articles in HCA through the databases.

Internet Resources: Websites and discussion lists about different HCA topics.

Videos: HCA and Allied Health videos.

Additional Resources: Tutorials to help you better use databases, how to save your citations in RefWorks training, and more  research training.

Citing: How to cite sources in your assignments. 

Under Construction HCA Research in a simple, quick video

Essential Health Care Administration Library Research Tools

FACULTY: Would you like the Houston Library to  place materials on Reserve in the Library or electronically 24/7?  If yes, please click HERE

Remember your TWU Librarians. We are available for mutually agreeable appointment times.  For Students, TWU Librarians help you to learn how to find information and how to use information tools correctly, help you gaining skills for the future.  For TWU Faculty and Staff, Librarians provide information needed.

Program in Health Care Administration: Management

Welcome to the TWU Libraries' Program in Health Care Administration subject guide! Here you will find a variety of research, news, and information sources.

The College of Business is directed by Dr. Rama Yelkur, Dean College of Business. 

The Health Care Administration program is managed by Dr. Rigoberto I. Delgado. His email is rdelgado1@twu.edu, and he is available at 713.794.2061.

                                                                             

 

Suggested Databases

Houston Center Library Materials

The Houston Center Library Room 4132 (at the Houston campus) has books from TWU's School of Business, Department of Health Care Administration, School of Nursing, Department of Nutrition & Food Sciences, School of Occupational Therapy and the School of Physical Therapy, also.  Available for Houston TWU faculty, staff, and students to consult in the library, all of these materials (books, audiovisuals and journals) are specially selected and added to the collection by your faculty and staff. There is a pc/scanner available to print in b&w or color at the adjacent Mega Computer Lab. The Library also has Laptops and Chromebooks  for checkout.  Most of these materials are available to you to check out during hours of operation,  so come browse the different collections and see what the Houston library has to offer you.

Please know that "Textbooks, reference, non-circulating, media materials, and Houston Reserve Items may not be requested through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)."

Houston's TWU building has shelter in place locations in the event of a storm, here.

Therapy Dogs Visit

     

On Monday 29 November, Bright and Beautiful Therapy Dogs visited the TWU Houston lobby, sponsored by the Houston Library and Houston Student Life.  Some 100 TWU faculty, staff, and  students came to greet them and their owner/trainers and learned all about therapy dogs and their use in health care. These highly trained therapy dogs regularly visit prisons, hospitals, long term care facilities and other sites.  They help children and adults and patients suffering from PTSD, adjusting to amputations, those with emotional distress, and other conditions.

 

Coronavirus COVID-19 & Smallpox/Monkeypox Information

 You may request one COVID test kit per address from the United States Postal Service, starting 19 January 2022. Go to   https://special.usps.com/testkits to order.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention COVID and Smallpox/Monkeypox information

US White House statement on Monkeypox

State of Texas Coronavirus Disease COVID-19 Resources and Monkeypox Resources

City of Houston COVID, Monkeypox  Resources and information on pollen and other health data

 

The US National Center for Post Traumatic Distress is at the US Veteran's Administration for everyone to access: https://www.ptsd.va.gov/index.asp

Houston Center Library Nap Pod

Houston Center Library has a wonderful nap pod for you to take a 20 minute power nap; come give it a try!

Library News and Technical Issues

In Fall and Spring semesters, the Houston Library offers you TWU "Freestyle Fridays."  From 10-4 on Fridays, we will offer coloring, painting, puzzles, knitting, checkers and more to help you relax and have fun!

Remember in the event of a storm, the Houston TWU building has designated shelter in place parts of the building illustrated here

The TWU library homepage, the Twitter handle @TWULibrary and the Facebook page show updates on library news, as well as reports on technical issues and content changes regarding library resources. Databases may have temporary downtimes. 

Did you know that Medicare is 57 years old?  See Medicare for information.