LibGuides: Health Studies: Search Help Videos

Video Search Help

General Searching Help

Video demos that might help with your searching:

Search Terms SP21 (4:32)
Types of ARTICLES: Information versus Research SP21 (8:31)
Is the article simply information (State of the Science) or is the article a research study using a research method?

ARTICLE: Information versus Empirical Research (PDF)

Library Webpage Tour (7:33) SP21
Information concerning important elements on the TWU Libraries homepage.
Library Subject Guides SP21 (2:23)
TWUniversal Search & Tour SP21 (5:51)
Watch how to use TWUniversal Search
TWUniversal: Finding Articles, Books, Videos SP21 (4:24)

Boolean Logic and Boolean Operators

All search technology operates using Boolean Logic & Boolean Operators.

Boolean Operators: AND OR NOT

Boolean Logic SP21 (5:30)
All search technology uses Boolean Logic. Watch this video to see what it is and how it works.

Medical Boolean PDF
Knowing the Boolean Operators and using them correctly is key to effective searching for evidence.

Search Engine logos 2021

Video demos explaining how Search Engines work:

Search Tools: Info on Search Engines SP21 (4:49))
Search Engine: Search Process with Tips SP21 (10::46)
Find expert options for searching in search engines like Google and Google Scholar.

Google Search Tips

Google Scholar & Full Text (1:51) SP21
Link Google Scholar articles to Full-Text
Google Scholar & RefWorks (4:47) SP21
Allow Google Scholar to move citations to RefWorks.

Peer Review

Peer Review is an editorial process that enhances the quality of research articles.

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

Submit requests for articles, book chapters, and books not owned by TWU. The service is free to TWU students.

InterLibrary Loan: Basic Information
InterLibrary Loan (ILL) VIDEO TOUR SP21 (5:17)
Watch how to use TWU"s InterLibrary Loan service

MeSH: Medical Subject Headings

Finding & Using MeSH Terms SP21 (6:28)
Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) with MeSH SP21 (5:58)
Search Medline EBSCO using controlled vocabulary for a comprehensive search

RefWorks: Citation Manager Software

RefWorks 3.0 This link opens in a new window
Save citations and format bibliographies in APA, MLA, Chicago, and other styles.
Users must create a free RefWorks login.

Video demos - How to use RefWorks:

Academic Search Complete with Limiters & RefWorks VIDEO SP21 (5:39)
Advanced search using limiters and exporting to RefWorks
APA PsycInfo Search with Headings, Limits, & RefWorks SP21 ( 8:14)
Advanced search using controlled vocabulary Headings and Limits; export citations to RefWorks
CINAHL Complete & RefWorks SP21 (3:03)
Export one citation to RefWorks.
ERIC Search with Controlled Vocabulary, Limits, & RefWorks SP21 (7:49)
Advanced search using controlled vocabulary (Thesaurus), Limits, and export to RefWorks
Google Scholar & RefWorks (4:47) SP21
Allow Google Scholar to move citations to RefWorks.
Medline (OVID) with MeSH & RefWorks SP21 (3:25)
Watch how to search Medline OVID using MeSH and then export results to RefWorks.
Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) with MeSH & RefWorks SP21 (8:15)
Watch how to search using MeSH and then export results to RefWorks.
Nursing & Allied Health (ProQuest) with Limits & RefWorks SP21 (8:24)
Nursing, OT, Pt, Com Sci, etc.
PubMed to RefWorks SP21 (2:51)
Watch how to export citations from PubMed to RefWorks

Database Demo Videos

PubMed logo

PubMed contains Bio-Medical-Sciences literature: biology (plants, animals, etc.), medicine (human, animal), sciences (chemical sciences physics, bioengineering, etc). This database is provided by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) through the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citation search for journal articles in health and life sciences. Links to full text and catalog search for availability.

Video Demos from basic to advanced to expert search:

PubMed Homepage Tour SP21 (3:14)
Explore important features on the PubMed homepage
PubMed Limiters SP21 (4:33)
Explore PubMed MeSH Limits options
PubMed Article Record SP21 (10:55)
Explore PubMed article record details
PubMed MeSH & Article Records SP21 (2:11)
Explore a PubMed MeSH record and a PubMed Article record.
PubMed - Finding & Using MeSH Terms SP21 (6:28)
Watch how to use MeSH to find controlled vocabulary / formal search terms
PubMed Combining MeSH Search Sets SP21 (4:47)
Watch how to search with MeSH, then combine search sets with AND & OR.
PubMed to RefWorks SP21 (2:51)
Watch how to export citations from PubMed to RefWorks
PubMed Expert Search SP21 (8:16)
Advanced PubMed search with MeSH, Filters, etc.

EBSCOhost logo Medline with Full Text (EBSCO)

Medline is a subset of the larger PubMed database. Medline focuses on biomedicine and health and the life sciences.

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Recommended interface Medical information including nursing, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences, and dentistry, veterinary medicine.

Video demos from basic to advanced:

Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) Standard Search SP21 (6:01)
Watch a basic search in Medline (EBSCO)
Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) Limits SP21 (3:55)
Explore Medline (EBSCO) limits to focus a search
Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) with MeSH SP21 (7:36)
Medline (EBSCO) search using MeSH controlled vocabulary for a comprehensive search
Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) with MeSH & RefWorks SP21 (8:15)
Watch how to search using MeSH and export results to RefWorks.

OVID logo Medline (OVID)

Medline (OVID) This link opens in a new window
Medical information including nursing, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences, and dentistry, veterinary medicine.

Videos from basic to advanced:

Medline (OVID) Standard Search SP21 (4:57)
Medline (OVID) basic search
Medline (OVID) with MeSH SP21 (5:40)
Search Medline uisng OVID user interface with controlled vocabulary for a comprehensive search
Medline (OVID) Expanded MeSH SP21 (3:03)
Search Medline in the OVID user interface using expanded MeSH for a comprehensive search
Medline (OVID) with MeSH & RefWorks SP21 (3:25)
Watch how to search Medline OVID using MeSH and then export results to RefWorks.

CINAHL Complete

CINAHL: Cumulative Index of Nursing & Allied Health Literature.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health journals.

Video demos from basic to advanced:

CINAHL Complete Video Tour SP21 (7:54)
Explore important element of CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete Limiters SP21 (5:19)
Explore limit options to focus a search
CINAHL Complete Basic Search SP21 (3:51)
Watch how to perform a basic search in CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete Article Record Tour SP21 (3:35)
Explore important details on the CINAHL Complete article record
CINAHL Complete Subject Headings Search SP21 (3:59)
Watch a search in CINAHL using CINAHL Headings for a comprehensive search
CINAHL Complete Headings, Limits & RefWorks SP21 (10:26)
Advanced Search in CINAHL using CINAHL Headings, Limits, and export to RefWorks

ProQuest logo Nursing & Allied Health (ProQuest)

The Nursing & Allied Health (ProQuest) database contains the other half of nursing and allied health literature not included in CINAHL.

Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based journal articles, citations, dissertations, reference materials, and clinical training videos in several healthcare topics aimed at students and those preparing for their career.

Nursing & Allied Health (ProQuest) with Limits & RefWorks VIDEO SP21 (8:24)
Nursing, OT, Pt, Com Sci, etc.

EBSCOhost logo Academic Search Complete

The Academic Search Complete database contains literature on topics from A to Z (Apples to Zebras). It contains a little literature on a lot of topics, but does not dive deeply into any one topic.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.

Video demo of database with Limiters and RefWorks

Academic Search Complete with Limiters & RefWorks VIDEO SP21 (5:39)
Advanced search using limiters and exporting to RefWorks

OVID logo APA PsycInfo

APA PsycInfo is provided by the American Psychological Association.

Video demos from basic to advanced:

APA PsycInfo Homepage Tour SP21 (3:19)
Explore important features on the APA PsycInfo homepage
APA PsycInfo Limits Tour SP21 (5:09)
Explore limits available in APA PsycInfo
APA PsycInfo Standard Search SP21 (1:47)
See how to perform a basic search in APA PsycInfo
APA PsycInfo Article Record SP21 (3:38)
Explore details on an APA PsycInfo article webpage
APA PsycInfo Search with Headings, Limits, & RefWorks SP21 ( 8:14)
Advanced search using controlled vocabulary Headings and Limits; export citations to RefWorks

EBSCOhost logo ERIC database

ERIC: Education Resource Information Center.

ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) through the U.S. Department of Education.

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Recommended interface. Journal articles, books, and curriculum guides in education research.

Video demos from basic to advanced:

ERIC Homepage Tour SP21 (2:02)
See important features on the ERIC homepage
ERIC Limits Tour SP21 (3:57)
Explore limits in ERIC to focus a search
ERIC Article Tour SP21 (3:53)
Explore important details in the article record
ERIC Search with Controlled Vocabulary, Limits, & RefWorks SP21 (7:49)
Advanced search using controlled vocabulary (Thesaurus), Limits, and export to RefWorks

TDS Health database logo (also knows as STAT!Ref)

The TDS Health (STAT!Ref) database contains the most current editions of a variety of full-text Medical Textbooks on a wide variety of health topics.

TDS Health This link opens in a new window
Medical reference books and textbooks. Mobile app access must be set up on the full website from a desktop computer and must be renewed from the full website every 6 months.

TDS Health Video Tour SP21 (5:47)
Health Sciences eBooks
(aka STAT!Ref)

This databases also contains the following:

Mobile App
Stedman's Medical Dictionary
Board Vitals
EBMcalc (evidence based medical calculators and medical formulae, decision trees and clinical criteria sets)
Evidence Alerts
Drug Shortages
Drug Interactions
ICD-9 and ICD-10 Conversion Tools

Access Medicine logo

The Access Medicine database contains the most current editions of a variety of full-text Medical Textbooks on a wide variety of health sciences topics.

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Medical textbooks and online learning tools for medical education and board exams review.

Access Medicine Video Tour SP21 (3:57)
Medical eBooks

This database contains the following:

2-Minute Medicine
DDx
Diagnostic Tests
Goodman & Gilman's: FDA Approvals
Guidelines (inpatient & primary care)
QMDT (Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2021
Drug information (Generics, Trade Names, Drug Classes, Patient handouts)
Multimedia, Lectures, Physical Exam, Procedural Videos, etc.
Cases (Clinical Neuro cases, Internal Med cases, Med Microbiology cases, Pathophys cases, etc.
Study Tools (flashcards, review questions, etc.)
Patient Education Handouts
Hospital Corner

Scopus logo 2021

The Scopus database is a Literature Mapping database.
It may be used as a keyword search database, but the database's purpose is to perform research on a specific article and place that article within a larger literature environment. It's central purpose is not to simply discover articles here and there

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation search of peer-reviewed literature covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities.
Best viewed in Chrome. Close pop-up box and begin searching. To utilize additional features, users should register for a free Elsevier account.

Video demos from basic to advanced:

Scopus Homepage Tour SP21 (2:13)
See important features of Scopus homepage
Scopus Quick Search by Article/Author SP21 (3:03)
Basic search in Scopus by Article and by Author
Scopus Limits Tour SP21 (2:21)
See Scopus Limiters to focus a search
Scopus Article Record Tour SP21 (3:16)
Tour details of article information in the Scopus database
Scopus to RefWorks SP21 (1:30)
Export citations from Scopus database to RefWorks

Literature Mapping PDF

Guide List example (test)

Esther's most recent guides

Find an article using one of the databases below.

An additional database that might be useful

Medline (OVID) This link opens in a new window
Medical information including nursing, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences, and dentistry, veterinary medicine.