Skip to Main Content

Special Collections

Includes: Woman’s Collection, University Archives, Records Management and Retention, Women Airforce Service Pilots, Women and Military Collections, Women and Aviation Collections, Women’s Organizational Collections, Cookbooks and Culinary History Collect

Woman's Collection Staff

Kimberly Johnson

Director of Special Collections

(940) 898-3743

kjohnson27@twu.edu

 

Shelia Bickle

Manager, Special Collections Research and Support Services

(940) 898-3752

sbickle@twu.edu

 

Crystal Machuca

Special Collections & Archives Specialist

(940) 898-3754

cmachuca1@twu.edu

MSS 002 : Claire Myers Owens Papers

Claire Myers Owens: Texas-born novelist, lecturer, and author of non-fiction works about self-realization and Zen Buddhism.  Graduate of College of Industrial Arts (CIA, later Texas Woman's University) in 1916.  Collection includes: 

correspondence

interview transcripts

news clippings

manuscripts

radio scripts

photographs

legal & financial records

biographical information

book reviews

published writings

family histories

drafts

artifacts

articles

notes

diaries

Claire Myers Owens Papers, MSS. 002, The Woman's Collection, Texas Woman's University

Restrictions

Access to Collection

Researchers may access the holidngs of the Woman's Collection Monday through Friday 9:00 am to 4:00 pm.  The Woman's Colllection is located on the second floor of the Blagg-Huey Library on the Denton Campus of Texas Woman's University.  All materials are viewed in the Catherine Merchant Reading Room.  Photocopies and scans are provided at the discretion of the Woman's Collection.  No portion of the collection can be checked out or loaned.

Publication and Copyright Statements

Literary rights to all Cliare Myers Owens' works published prior to her death reside with John W. White of 60 Pound Ridge Road, Cheshire, Connecticut 06410.  All literary rights of Claire Myers Owens' manuscripts and unpublished work are owned by Texas Woman's University.

Permission to publish materials must be obtained in writing from the Director for Special Collections.

All responsibility for questions of copyright that may arise in copying, scanning, and use of material shall be assumed by the user.