Skip to Main Content

Special Collections

Includes: Woman’s Collection, University Archives, Records Management and Retention, Women Airforce Service Pilots, Women and Military Collections, Women and Aviation Collections, Women’s Organizational Collections, Cookbooks and Culinary History Collect

Woman's Collection Staff

Kimberly Johnson

Director of Special Collections

(940) 898-3743  |   kjohnson27@twu.edu

Shelia Bickle

Manager, Special Collections Research and Support Services

(940) 898-3752  |   sbickle@twu.edu

MSS 250: Women Airforce Service Pilots of World War II Collection

About the Official WASP Archive

Donated to the Woman’s Collection at Texas Woman’s University in 1992, the WASP Archive has served over 20,000 researchers to date. Users of the collection include students of all ages, filmmakers, journalists, documentarians, scholars, authors, scholars, historians, and aviation enthusiasts. Evidence of growth in the WASP Archive includes:

  • Developed WASP Digital Archive consisting of 5,000 digitally accessible historic and one-of-a-kind documents and images
  • 1200 biographical files on WASP and related personnel
  • WASP traveling exhibit
  • Publish biannual newsletter
  • Collected 700+ oral histories
  • 600+ collections of records, papers, and memorabilia of individual WASP

Our Collections

The WASP Archive includes over 1 million wartime and postwar items as well as the personal collections of hundreds of the WASP.  The archive houses:

Photographs

Rules & Regulations

Articles & News Clippings 

Uniforms 

Congressional Records

Maps

Documents & Reports 

Diplomas & Certificates

Rosters

Media

Diaries & Journals

Oral Histories & Letters Written Home

Scrapbooks & Photo Albums 

Military Records

Accident Reports

Newsletters 

 Insignia & Memorabilia

Reunions

Base Histories

Official Orders & Assignments

Procedures

Log Books & Pilots Licenses

Artifacts & Ephemera

Class Books

In Memoriam

Biographical Files

 

MSS 250: Women Airforce Service Pilots

WASP

Women Airforce Service Pilots Digital Archive

Women Airforce Service Pilots Related Collections

Whirly Girls International 

Women Military Aviators, Inc.

International Society or Women Airline Pilots

Association of Women in Aviation Maintenance (AWAM)

Air Race Classic

 

Women Airforce Service Pilots of WWII, MSS. 250, The WASP Archive, Texas Woman's University

Restrictions

Access to Collection

Researchers may access the holidngs of the Woman's Collection Monday through Friday 8:30 am to 4:30 pm.  The Woman's Colllection is located on the second floor of the Blagg-Huey Library on the Denton Campus of Texas Woman's University.  All materials are viewed in the Catherine Merchant Reading Room.  Photocopies and scans are provided at the discretion of the Woman's Collection.  No portion of the collection can be checked out or loaned.

Publication and Copyright Statements

Permission to publish materials must be obtained in writing from the Director for Special Collections.

All responsibility for questions of copyright that may arise in copying, scanning, and use of material shall be assumed by the user.

Subjects: Sociology