Recommended Resources - Physical Therapy - Dallas - LibGuides at Texas Womans University

Recommended Resources/Journal Ranking Factors/Metrics/High Index

Best Bets

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health journals.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based journal articles, citations, dissertations, reference materials, and clinical training videos in several healthcare topics aimed at students and those preparing for their career.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citation search for journal articles in health and life sciences. Links to full text and catalog search for availability.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation search of peer-reviewed literature covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities.
Best viewed in Chrome. Close pop-up box and begin searching. To utilize additional features, users should register for a free Elsevier account.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Journal article citations in science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences.

Other Recommended Databases

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Medical textbooks and online learning tools for medical education and board exams review.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based medical information, clinical trials, and systematic reviews on the effectiveness of healthcare interventions.
Emcare This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, peer-reviewed literature about nursing and allied health.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Recommended interface. Journal articles, books, and curriculum guides in education research.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Medical journals, magazines, reference works, and images on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, reference books, pamphlets, and videos covering most healthcare topics.
Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Database This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based literature reviews, recommended practices and procedures, information guideline sheets, comprehensive systematic reviews and protocols, consumer information sheets and technical reports for healthcare workers.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Recommended interface Medical information including nursing, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences, and dentistry, veterinary medicine.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in science, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, training, coaching, and physical education content.
TDS Health This link opens in a new window
Medical reference books and textbooks. Mobile app access must be set up on the full website from a desktop computer and must be renewed from the full website every 6 months.
Trip Medical Database This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based clinical research, images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news to support clinicians in their practice and/or care. Limited to use while on campus only.

Specialist Databases

BioDigital Human This link opens in a new window
3D interactive visualizations of anatomy, disease, and treatments. Interactive tools with medical descriptions. Follow the instructions on the "Password Protected Resource" page after logging in with your TWU credentials.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
Open access, peer-reviewed journals in all subjects.
OECD Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
Statistics related to health and health systems dating back to 1960.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics, reports, infographics and data points in most subject areas and topics from around the world.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
Citation search of academic and scholarly journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters in most subject areas.

For Rehabilitation Therapists

DiTA (Diagnostic Test Accuracy Database)
Indexes primary studies of diagnostic test accuracy and systematic reviews of diagnostic test accuracy studies related to physiotherapy practice.
Hep2go
Website for creating home exercise programs for patients and or clients. For rehabilitation professionals such as physical therapists, PTA's, occupational therapists, COTA's, athletic trainers, chiropractors, orthopedic doctors, sports doctors and more.
PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
Provides access to more than 50,000 randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines relevant to physiotherapy.

For Medical and Scientific Information

CDC: Centers for Disease Control
Official website for the CDC. Includes information on health-related topics, health data and statistics, links to publications, and more.
Health Information in Multiple Languages
Allows users to browse health information from the National Institutes of Health in multiple languages, arranged by language and health topic.
Medline Plus
Consumer-facing website from the National Library of Medicine (NLM); features high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish.
PEW Research Center
A nonpartisan organization that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
Refseek
A web search engine for students and researchers focusing on open source and other cost-free online content of academic interest and quality, including web pages, books, encyclopedias, journals, and newspapers.
World Health Organization
Global health information and data. Can be browsed by topic or country.

Accessing Journals through TWU Libraries

Journal Search
Use the Journal Search in our online catalog to browse or find specific titles.

Look for relevant journals by entering in their title, a general subject such as occupational or physical therapy, or the topic you are investigating, e.g. stroke.

Screen grab of TWU Libraries website showing journal search

Accessing eBooks through TWU Libraries

TWUniversal
Use TWUniversal to search for an ebook by title or topic.

Screen grab of search engine on TWU Libraries website

Once you have your search results, use the options on the left to select for "full text online" and "books." (You can access these options through the filter or funnel icon toward the top of your screen on your mobile device.)
Click on "apply filters" to see your new results.

Screen grab of TWU Libraries online catalog and filters for full text online and books

Other Ways to Search for eBooks

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Books in almost every subject area. Proquest.
Ebook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Academic and popular books.
TDS Health This link opens in a new window
Medical reference books and textbooks. Mobile app access must be set up on the full website from a desktop computer and must be renewed from the full website every 6 months.

NLM Bookshelf
Provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
Google Books
A comprehensive index of full-text books.

Anatomy and Physical Examinations

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Videos of head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for assessment or clinical medicine.
BioDigital Human This link opens in a new window
3D interactive visualizations of anatomy, disease, and treatments. Interactive tools with medical descriptions. Follow the instructions on the "Password Protected Resource" page after logging in with your TWU credentials.
Health Sciences in Video This link opens in a new window
Instructional videos by experts provide detailed lessons, demonstrations of skills and techniques, interviews, documentaries, and reports exploring health and wellness in a wide array of medical fields—including dentistry, nursing, rehabilitation therapy, sports medicine and exercise science, and veterinary science.
JoVE Essentials of Neuroscience This link opens in a new window
Articles and videos providing an introduction to the field of neuroscience and exploring five major branches of study.

Anatomy: Functional Body Systems
Covers the hidden wonders of the skeletal, muscular, cardiovascular, respiratory, and nervous systems and how they all work in conjunction with each other.
Anatomy for Beginners
Series of four videos covering movement, circulation, digestion, and reproduction.
Anatomy of the Ankle and Foot
Examines the surface features of the foot and ankle, then probes the deeper layers, highlighting major bones, muscles, ligaments, blood vessels, and nerves.
Anatomy of the Hand
Demonstrates how the hand functions, spotlighting the opposable nature of the thumb, and how the nerve network and blood vessels deploy.
Anatomy of the Knee
Addresses the intricate mechanics of the knee joint’s musculature, tendons, ligaments, and cartilage.
Anatomy of the Shoulder
Presents the technical specifications of the shoulder: what muscles sheathe it, how it functions, and its range of motion.
Functional Anatomy
Covers the skeletal system, muscular system, and types of movement, as well as an overview of the respiratory and circulatory systems.
Types of Movement
Athletes use the flexion and extension functions of muscles, but they also rely heavily on abduction, adduction, and rotation of muscles.

What Is Grey Literature?

Put simply, grey literature is scholarly material that hasn't been peer reviewed and/or published, like government documents, white papers, student dissertations, or conference proceedings and minutes.

Why Use Grey Literature?

Depth

Even if an article or book chapter is eventually produced from grey literature, this by definition is a secondary source and the original works from which it is derived can contain information that is never included in the journal article.

Breadth

Grey literature can offer a broader view on topics, such as websites for organizations or community blog postings.

Timeliness

Results of studies may appear in grey literature 12 to 18 months before being published via traditional channels.

Flexibility

Rather than waiting years for the publication of a revised edition, authors, editors, and content creators can update information when needed, a factor that reinforces the timeliness of grey literature.

Open Access

There is a great abundance of grey literature that is freely available online.

Where to Look for Grey Literature

Finding these studies can be difficult, but there are a few online resources that can be used to discover this type of unpublished research.

CDC: Centers for Disease Control
Official website for the CDC. Includes information on health-related topics, health data and statistics, links to publications, and more.
Digital Public Library of America
Makes millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available through one search engine.
Finding Grey Literature Evidence (AHRQ and the Effective Health Care Program)
Google Scholar
Indexes a variety of scholarly literature in various formats. Use the link at the left for tips on how to use Google Scholar.
Grey Matters: A Practical Tool for Searching Health-Related Grey Literature
A comprehensive list of open grey sites published by CADTH — the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health.
Grey Matters is an open access tool
National Center for Health Statistics
Collects, analyzes, and disseminates timely, relevant, and accurate health data and statistics.
OpenDOAR
An authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded on their website.
TWU Repository
Research produced by TWU faculty, students, and staff.
UK Department of Health & Social Care
Government publications and reports on a variety of topics related to public and social health in the UK.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Information on products regulated by the FDA: Human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, our nation's food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.
U.S. Government Publishing Office
Information resources published across federal governmental institutions.
UK Health Security Agency (UKHSA)
Governmental reports on infectious diseases, chemical, biological, radiological and nuclear incidents and other health threats.
World Health Organization
Global health information and data. Can be browsed by topic or country.

Publication	h5-index	h5-median
1.	British Journal of Sports Medicine	123	192
2.	Sports Medicine	114	170
3.	The American Journal of Sports Medicine	86	115
4.	International Journal of Behavioral Nutrition and Physical Activity	74	121
5.	The Journal of Strength & Conditioning Research	73	90
6.	Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise	72	113
7.	Knee Surgery, Sports Traumatology, Arthroscopy	72	95
8.	Journal of Sports Sciences	67	91
9.	Psychology of Sport and Exercise	64	85
10.	Scandinavian Journal of Medicine & Science in Sports	63	81
11.	Journal of Science and Medicine in Sport	60	88
12.	Journal of Sport and Health Science	59	84
13.	Arthroscopy: The Journal of Arthroscopic & Related Surgery	58	70
14.	European Journal of Sport Science	57	78
15.	International Journal of Sports Physiology and Performance	56	81
16.	Physical Therapy	54	89
17.	Gait & Posture	54	75
18.	Orthopaedic Journal of Sports Medicine	52	78
19.	Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy	52	77
20.	Sport Management Review	51	73

InCites Journal and Highly Cited Data This link opens in a new window
Annual analysis and ranking of scholarly journals in the hard and social sciences.

Physical Therapy - Dallas