This guide compiles communication sciences and oral health resources, like library-subscribed article and e-book databases, multimedia, and association, occupational, and trade websites, to assist you in your learning and research.
I am here to help! To make an appointment for assistance, whether you need help locating peer-reviewed research or are working on a more extensive research project, please contact me to schedule an in-person or Zoom appointment.
During the fall and spring terms, I am usually on campus between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. Please let me know if you need an appointment outside those hours, and I will do my best to work with you.
Meet with writing tutors for help at any stage of the assignment process, from brainstorming a topic to revising your final draft. Each 50-minute appointment with The Write Site can cover up to 5 pages of material, but you can book up to 5 appointments a week, covering up to 25 pages a week.
When the TWU Libraries do not have an article or book you need, use this service to request delivery of the item.
Submit a request for an article, book, book chapter, thesis or dissertation.
FIRST-TIME Users: Fill out the online form to create an account.
Online Delivery: Login to your account and click on the 'Electronically Recieved Articles' link to access the PDF.
The following databases contain information on Communication Sciences & Disorders. Click "more" beneath each database name for details.
Journal articles, videos, and ebooks designed for all levels of educators.
Abstracts and indexes of international journal articles and literature covering all aspects of the study of language, linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
Evidence-based journal articles, citations, dissertations, reference materials, and clinical training videos in several healthcare topics aimed at students and those preparing for their career.
Effective searching must be planned and methodical. Below are suggested steps for searching.
1. Know your topic. (Background Information)
Dates, names, spellings, definitions, symptoms, etc.
2. List all the search terms for the topic you can think of.
Think SYNONYMS: Formal, Informal, and Technical
3. Ask yourself where might information on your topic be located.
Journals? Books? Internet? Newspapers?
4. Choose your search tool.
A Database? TWUniversal? Google? Google Scholar?
5. Decide which information format you want.
Article? Video? Book Chapter? Audio file? Image?
6. Make a plan.
Database + search terms X, Y & Z + peer-review
7. Explore your topic in several places.
Analyze your results. Which search terms work best?
8. Search again and again and again.
Keep testing search terms in different databases.
9. Archive your citations in a citation manager like Zotero or RefWorks.
Use Zotero or RefWorks to format your information sources into APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. style.
10. Can't find what you are looking for?
Ask the Librarian assigned to this Subject Guide for help.
Example Database Search for articles:
Example Google Scholar Search for articles:
Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association
by
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that gives you one-click access to full text scholarly content from TWU Libraries when searching online.
LibKey.io allows you to search for articles by DOI (digital object identifier) or PMID (PubMed ID) and directly download resources available through TWU Libraries.
