LibGuides: NFS 3323: Food Science: Ingredients

Ingredients

Resources for information about food ingredients.

Search Tips

Ingredients (Google Doc)

Ingredients Research

Resources for finding the function of ingredients in a food product.

Online Resources

Bender's Dictionary of Nutrition & Food Technology
On the right side of the screen, click "Search within" to search for a specific ingredient. If you cannot find your ingredient here, try UL Prospector.
UL Prospector search engine
Good for finding the function of less common ingredients.
Reference Module in Food Science (ScienceDirect)
If you cannot find what you need using the resources above, use this database to search multiple encyclopedias and dictionaries at once.

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
If you cannot find what you need using the resources above, use this database to search multiple encyclopedias and dictionaries at once.

Print Resources

The Food Encyclopedia by Jacques L. Rolland; Carol Sherman
Call Number: NFS 3323 D (Reserves)
ISBN: 9780778801504
Publication Date: 2006

Citing UL Prospector and Bender's Dictionary (AMA)
Most information in UL Prospector or Bender's Dictionary can be cited similar to an entry from an encyclopedia or dictionary.

Example: UL Prospector
For Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate (SSL)

Author(s)/Company. Title of entry. Name of website. URL. Published date. Updated date. Accessed date.

Foodchem International Corporation. Sodium stearoyl lactylate(SSL). UL Prospector. www.ulprospector.com/en/na/Food. Accessed January 13, 2023.

Example: Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology
For "sodium stearoyl lactylate"

Author(s). Title of entry. In: Editor(s). Title of Publication. Edition number. Publisher; Year:Page number(s). Sodium stearoyl lactylate. In: Bender DA. Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology. 8th ed. Woodhead Publishing; 2006.

If there is no individual author listed, skip the author portion of the citation and move on to the next piece (Title of entry). If other citation information, like page numbers, is missing, skip that piece of information and move on to the next piece.