Skip to main content

Nursing - Annual Colloquium 2021

Video Search Help

General Searching Help

Video demos that might help with your searching:

Boolean Logic and Boolean Operators

All search technology operates using Boolean Logic & Boolean Operators.

Boolean Operators:  AND    OR     NOT

     

        Advanced Boolean with AND and OR and synonyms

Search Engine logos 2021

 
      Video demos explaining how Search Engines work:


Peer Review

Peer Review is an editorial process that enhances the quality of research articles.

InterLibrary Loan  (ILL)

Submit requests for articles, book chapters, and books not owned by TWU. The service is free to TWU students.

PubMed MeSH logo      MeSH: Medical Subject Headings

RefWorks logo 2021   RefWorks: Citation Manager Software

     Video demos - How to use RefWorks:

Database Demo Videos

PubMed logo

PubMed contains Bio-Medical-Sciences literature: biology (plants, animals, etc.), medicine (human, animal), sciences (chemical sciences physics, bioengineering, etc). This database is provided by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) through the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

     Video Demos from basic to advanced to expert search:

EBSCOhost logo    Medline with Full Text (EBSCO)

Medline is a subset of the larger PubMed database. Medline focuses on biomedicine and health and the life sciences.

     Video demos from basic to advanced:


 

OVID logo   Medline (OVID)

     Videos from basic to advanced:

 EBSCOhost logo    CINAHL Complete

CINAHL: Cumulative Index of Nursing & Allied Health Literature.

     Video demos from basic to advanced:

ProQuest logo       Nursing & Allied Health (ProQuest)

The Nursing & Allied Health (ProQuest) database contains the other half of nursing and allied health literature not included in CINAHL.

EBSCOhost logo     Academic Search Complete

The Academic Search Complete database contains literature on topics from A to Z (Apples to Zebras). It contains a little literature on a lot of topics, but does not dive deeply into any one topic.

     Video demo of database with Limiters and RefWorks

OVID logo     APA PsycInfo 

APA PsycInfo is provided by the American Psychological Association.

     Video demos from basic to advanced:

EBSCOhost logo  ERIC database

ERIC: Education Resource Information Center.

ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) through the U.S. Department of Education.

     Video demos from basic to advanced:

TDS Health database logo  (also knows as STAT!Ref)

The TDS Health (STAT!Ref) database contains the most current editions of a variety of full-text Medical Textbooks on a wide variety of health topics.

This databases also contains the following:

  • Mobile App
  • Stedman's Medical Dictionary
  • Board Vitals
  • EBMcalc (evidence based medical calculators and medical formulae, decision trees and clinical criteria sets)
  • Evidence Alerts
  • Drug Shortages
  • Drug Interactions
  • ICD-9 and ICD-10 Conversion Tools

Access Medicine logo

The Access Medicine database contains the most current editions of a variety of full-text  Medical Textbooks on a wide variety of health sciences topics.

This database contains the following:

  • 2-Minute Medicine
  • DDx
  • Diagnostic Tests
  • Goodman & Gilman's: FDA Approvals
  • Guidelines (inpatient & primary care)
  • QMDT (Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2021
  • Drug information (Generics, Trade Names, Drug Classes, Patient handouts)
  • Multimedia, Lectures, Physical Exam, Procedural Videos, etc.
  • Cases (Clinical Neuro cases, Internal Med cases, Med Microbiology cases, Pathophys cases, etc.
  • Study Tools (flashcards, review questions, etc.)
  • Patient Education Handouts
  • Hospital Corner

Scopus logo 2021

The Scopus database is a Literature Mapping database.
It may be used as a keyword search database, but the database's purpose is to perform research on a specific article and place that article within a larger literature environment. It's central purpose is not to simply discover articles here and there 

    Video demos from basic to advanced: