CINAHL provides Evidence-Based Care Sheets to database users - located at the center top of the CINAHL search page. Database users may also choose 'Publication Type' to find "Consumer/Patient Teaching Materials".
From the homepage, select the Other Browse Options link and drill down to Topics by Cochrane Review Group. At the Topics by Group list, select Consumer and Communication. These resources target information for healthcare providers researching consumer healthcare delivery.
Consumer Health Complete is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and men & women's health. Offers fact-sheets/pamphlets, videos, drug & herb info, images, diagrams, as well as evidence reports and alternative health sources.
From the Basic Search page, select Medicine to expand the resources list. Searchable resources include Encyclopedias of Public Health, Alternative Medicine, Children's Health, Genetic Disorders, Nursing and Allied Health, etc.
Provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
1. Select Advanced Search. Use "consumer education" as a SUBJECT search term.
2. Select Browse. Choose 'Cultural Competency Briefs: Religion, Ethnicity and Care"
A clinical information resource that provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbooks. Go to Advanced Search. Below the Select All button, click the drop-down menu and select Patient Information. Add your search topic to the Search textbox and Search.
US Dept of Health & Human Services
The first website in Spanish to help consumers take control of their healthcare by connecting them with new information and resources that will help them access quality, affordable healthcare coverage. Offers information about choices, cost, and what to expect.
MedlinePlus es el sitio web de los Institutos Nacionales de la Salud para pacientes y sus familias y amigos. Producida por la Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina, MedlinePlus le brinda información sobre enfermedades, condiciones y bienestar en un lenguaje fácil de leer. MedlinePlus ofrece información confiable, actualizada en todo momento, en cualquier lugar y de forma gratuita.
ONC is the principal Federal entity charged with coordination of nationwide efforts to implement and use the most advanced health information technology and the electronic exchange of health information. The position of National Coordinator was created in 2004, through an Executive Order, and legislatively mandated in the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act (HITECH Act) of 2009.