Skip to main content

Health Care Administration: Houston

Health care administration research guide for TWU students, faculty and staff.

Learn About Plagiarism, Databases & Library Research

  • Take Tutorials in Canvas on Avoiding Plagiarism and Library Research Here

  • Learn PubMed Database Searching Here

  • Learn the 2020 Version of PubMed Here

  • Learn RefWorks Bibliographic Citation Management Here

 

Doing Research: Tutorials

Getting Published

Let TWU help you to get published in reputable sources

Consult the initial process at Sharing Your Research and more detail at Publishing Your Research and find information about the Directory of Open Access Journals the Creative Commons network at https://network.creativecommons.org/about/ and organizations like SPARC. Once you know where and how you want to get published, be careful to work with only the best quality publishers who will make your work shine!

YOUR AREA: OTHER HEALTH SCIENCE LIBRARIES

Briscoe Library: UT San Antonio Regional medical library located in San Antonio's medical center.

Libraries Consortia & Memberships

TWU Libraries are members of many groups and affiliations that help support your research and learning.  Selected groups include:

AMIGOS Library Services

TexShare

My Government Representatives

To find out who represents you locally, statewide and at the Federal level: You can connect with those who represent you and give them your hopes and opinions:

 

I Need a Few Good Articles, Please!

First, get your subject in mind, like "Could obesity be caused by a virus?" This is the most important step (and the hardest)

Next, try the world's biggest health sciences database, called PubMed. Do an Advanced (click it) search; input obesity, click ADD input viruses, click ADD & click Search. Refine the results on the left of the Results page by year (last 5 years) full text, language, ages, controlled clinical trials or whatever you prefer to find a few good articles.

Click Send to and send to your RefWorks account to help design a beautiful References list to attach to your great paper.

Selected Help for PubMed, MEDLINE and Cochrane Database Use

The Cochrane Library is a valuable and different database  in health sciences research, described here with training available

The PubMed searching Help Guide here and more searching help on PubMed and MEDLINE are  here

Advanced Searching in PubMed: see https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/advanced/ and also here

Is part of your article citation missing?  Use PubMed's tool to find the full citation: Single citation matcher

Learn how to save PubMed citations to RefWorks or another citation manager here

Search PubMed in a language other than English, including Spanish, French or others at BABEL PubMed


PubMed Searching Management

Evidence Based Practice PICO Worksheet

Use the EBP Worksheet above to define your research question using PICO(T).

Identify:
Problem
Intervention
Comparison Groups
Outcomes

APA 6th ed Style and DOIs

The American Psychological Association (APA) Publication Manual, 6th edition, published in 2010, has been updated with the 7th edition, published in 2020.  See APA 7th to review the differences between the 6th and 7th editions.  Check with your faculty to determine which edition to use.  Both editions are available through TWU libraries.

Take a Nap!

TWU Libraries, in conjunction with the Student Union, Student Services and Student Life,  have a nap pod for you to use for 20 minute power naps in the ARC

. 

Former ARC Library Student Assistant and MOTS Ms Kristen McManus demonstrates the nap pod use