Recommended Resources

Databases
Health Data & Statistics

Best Bets

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citation search for journal articles in health and life sciences. Links to full text and catalog search for availability.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health journals.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based journal articles, citations, dissertations, reference materials, and clinical training videos in several healthcare topics aimed at students and those preparing for their career.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation search of peer-reviewed literature covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities.
Best viewed in Chrome. Close pop-up box and begin searching. To utilize additional features, users should register for a free Elsevier account.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Journal article citations in science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences.

Other Recommended Databases

bioRxiv This link opens in a new window
(Pronounced "bio-archive") Free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based medical information, clinical trials, and systematic reviews on the effectiveness of healthcare interventions.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Medical journals, magazines, reference works, and images on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, reference books, pamphlets, and videos covering most healthcare topics.
Health Research Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, evidence-based resources, and dissertations in a variety of essential health content.
Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Database This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based literature reviews, recommended practices and procedures, information guideline sheets, comprehensive systematic reviews and protocols, consumer information sheets and technical reports for healthcare workers.
Medline (OVID) This link opens in a new window
Medical information including nursing, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences, and dentistry, veterinary medicine.
Nursing Collection (Journals at Ovid Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles about allied health and nursing.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT) This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses in all subject areas from universities around the world.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in science, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.

Specialist Databases

Reports & Evaluations

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Current, evidence-based, and graded clinical recommendations of over 8,500 topics in 17 medical specialties that integrates drug information and clinical images. Includes medical calculators.

Anatomy

BioDigital Human This link opens in a new window
3D interactive visualizations of anatomy, disease, and treatments. Interactive tools with medical descriptions. Follow the instructions on the "Password Protected Resource" page after logging in with your TWU credentials.

Tests & Measurements

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed, comprehensive information about behavioral and psychosocial measurement tools for researchers across diverse disciplines and professions. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Contains information on hundreds of educational and psychological tests and evaluations.
PsycTests This link opens in a new window
Provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration. Be sure to set any search parameters in advanced search screen as filtering search results is limited.

Licensure Exam Prep

Mometrix eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive test preparation tool with access to a variety of study materials for many different exams across a broad range of industries, including nursing.
StatPearls This link opens in a new window
Contains point-of-care and educational activities, peer-reviewed PubMed-indexed articles, and board review courses and practice certification exams used to pass licensing, board certification, and in-service exams as well as meet continuing education requirements for many health and medical specialties.
New users must create a free StatPearls account with their @twu.edu email account for access.

National Data Collections

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Federal agency that oversees the safety and quality of American healthcare.
CDC: Centers for Disease Control
Official website for the CDC. Includes information on health-related topics, health data and statistics, links to publications, and more.
National Library of Medicine
Official website of the NIH, a federally funded institution dedicated to biomedical research.
Office on Women's Health
A subset of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, the organization fosters better healthcare for girls and women through policy, education and programs.
Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan organization that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
State Health Facts
Collected by KFF, formerly the Kaiser Family Foundation, this site allows users to explore and map health indicators by state.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Browse their Data Tools to look at information under Industry at a Glance, which includes information on healthcare and hospitals, or search for a profession to get the latest reports on wages, employment and more.
U.S. Census Bureau
Use their topics menu to explore health subjects like disability, insurance, social assistance and more.
World Health Organization
Global health information and data. Can be browsed by topic or country.

Navigating Data from the CDC

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
Collects telephone surveys about health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions and use of preventive services.
CDC Wonder
Search engine to explore reports, recommendations and guidelines, and articles and research data from the CDC.
National Center for Health Statistics
Collects, analyzes, and disseminates timely, relevant, and accurate health data and statistics.
Office of Public Health Data, Surveillance, and Technology (OPHDST)
Formerly the Division of Public Health Information Dissemination, the OPHDST will work to collect public health data at the local, state and national levels.
Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System (WISQARS)
Publishes fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data.

Texas Health Data

Healthy North Texas
Seeks to improve the health of North Texas residents through data collection, identification of areas for improvement and collaborative efforts to address the needs of North Texans.
Texas Department of State Health Services
Collects data and statistics on health-related topics across the state.
Dallas County Health Advisories, Data and Reports Overview
Includes local data on epidemiology statistics, health advisories, and more.

Consumer Resources

Health Information in Multiple Languages
Allows users to browse health information from the National Institutes of Health in multiple languages, arranged by language and health topic.
Medline Plus
Consumer-facing website from the National Library of Medicine (NLM); features high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish.