LibGuides: Florence Nightingale: Articles

Databases/Articles

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Medical textbooks and online learning tools for medical education and board exams review.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Journal articles about complementary and alternative medicine.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Videos of head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for assessment or clinical medicine.
BioDigital Human This link opens in a new window
3D interactive visualizations of anatomy, disease, and treatments. Interactive tools with medical descriptions. Follow the instructions on the "Password Protected Resource" page after logging in with your TWU credentials.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health journals.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based medical information, clinical trials, and systematic reviews on the effectiveness of healthcare interventions.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Medical journals, magazines, reference works, and images on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, reference books, pamphlets, and videos covering most healthcare topics.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Citation search of journals covering health and psychosocial sciences. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Health Evidence This link opens in a new window
Publicly available systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions, including cost data.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Journal articles focusing on medical disciplines and medication information.
Contains access to AHFS Consumer Medication Information.
Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Database This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based literature reviews, recommended practices and procedures, information guideline sheets, comprehensive systematic reviews and protocols, consumer information sheets and technical reports for healthcare workers.
The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based, peer-reviewed evaluations, and comparative reviews of drugs with conclusions reached by a consensus of experts.
MedicLatina This link opens in a new window
Spanish-language medical research and investigative journal articles.
Medline (OVID) This link opens in a new window
Medical information including nursing, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences, and dentistry, veterinary medicine.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Recommended interface Medical information including nursing, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences, and dentistry, veterinary medicine.
MedPix This link opens in a new window
Open access medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based journal articles, citations, dissertations, reference materials, and clinical training videos in several healthcare topics aimed at students and those preparing for their career.
Nursing- Royal College of This link opens in a new window
Journals providing health professionals with the latest developments impacting nursing, including changes in policy, practice and research.
Nursing Collection (Journals at Ovid Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles about allied health and nursing.
Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Nursing training videos designed to help students improve their clinical skills.
OECD Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
Statistics related to health and health systems dating back to 1960.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in psychology.
PsychiatryOnline (POL) This link opens in a new window
Psychiatric textbooks, journals, and professional development tools.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books in behavioral science and mental health.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citation search for journal articles in health and life sciences. Links to full text and catalog search for availability.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in science, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation search of peer-reviewed literature covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities.
Best viewed in Chrome. Close pop-up box and begin searching. To utilize additional features, users should register for a free Elsevier account.
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
Citation search for scholarly and trade literature covering physical and health education, kinesiology, sport sociology and psychology, and other related topics.
STAT!Ref (now TDS Health) This link opens in a new window
Medical reference books and textbooks.
Mobile app access must be set up on the full website from a desktop computer and must be renewed from the full website every 6 months.
TDS Health (formerly STAT!Ref) This link opens in a new window
Medical reference books and textbooks. Mobile app access must be set up on the full website from a desktop computer and must be renewed from the full website every 6 months.
Trip Medical Database This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based clinical research, images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news to support clinicians in their practice and/or care. Limited to use while on campus only.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Locate books, journals and magazines, music scores, archival materials, and media in libraries worldwide.

Subject Guides

When looking for articles, you typically need a database to locate the citation and the full-text. Below is a listing of the subject guides for the field of Nursing that will assist you in finding databases. These are limited to TWU students, faculty and students.

Nursing - Dallas
by Joanna Russell Bliss Last Updated Nov 21, 2023 2331 views this year
Nursing - Denton
by Esther Garcia Last Updated Nov 8, 2023 4948 views this year
Nursing - Houston
by Nadine Bonds-Bishop Last Updated Nov 20, 2023 2958 views this year