Skip to main content

Nursing - Denton

Nursing research guide for Denton students, faculty, and staff.
Elaine Cox's picture
Elaine Cox
Contact:
Texas Woman's University
Mary Evelyn Blagg-Huey Library
Room 102C
304 Administration Drive
Denton, Texas 76204
ECox@twu.edu
940.898.3708

Hand Washing Videos

And now for some fun...

If you have seen or know of a wonderful, funny, crazy hand washing video, please email the link to me. I'll post it here! (ECox@twu.edu)

And now... for some Nursing hand washing videos:

Alfred Health Staff video

 

Interactive Nurse Practitioner 
Scope of Practice Law Guide

Barton Associates image NP Scope of Practice

2020 TWU College of Nursing Ph.D. Colloquium

NOW AVAILABLE

Cvoer page of 5 minute clinical consult ebook

Click link below to access the ebook full text online.

Two Critical Nursing Resources

 Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination 


Access Medicine Ebook database


STAT!Ref logo replaced by TDS Health database >   

COVID-19 Research Literature Resources

Libraries are receiving notification from publishers of scholarly literature that they are making research articles available for free concerning the COVID-19. See below:

The following databases contain information on Nursing topics. Hover over a database name for details.

Effective Searching must be planned and methodical. Below are suggested steps for searching.

1. Know your topic. (Background Information)
       
Dates, names, spellings, definitions, symptoms, etc.

2. List all the search terms for the topic you can think of.
       
Think SYNONYMS: Formal, Informal, and Technical

3. Ask yourself where might information on your topic be located. 
       Internet? Books? Newspapers? Journals? 

4. Choose your search tool.
      TWUniversal?  A Database?  Google?  Google Scholar?

5. Decide which information format you want.
      
Article?  Video?  Book Chapter?  Audio file?  Image?

6. Make a plan.
     Database  +  search terms X, Y & Z  +  peer-review

7. Explore your topic in several places. 
      Analyze your results. Which search terms work best?

8. Search again and again and again.
      Keep testing search terms in different databases.

9. Archive your citations in RefWorks.
      Let RefWorks create your Bibliography automatically.

10. Can't find what you are looking for?
      Ask the Librarian assigned to this Subject Guide for help.

Example Database Search for articles:

Database Search Example with Boolean

Example Google Scholar Search for articles:

Google Scholar Search example with Boolean

 

Guidelines

     Replaced by      

National Guideline Clearinghouse content will now be provided through ECRI. Their website launched in late November 2018!!!

Guideline Resources:

DFWHC Foundation