Databases and Journals - Physical Therapy - Houston - LibGuides at Texas Womans University

Why Use Multiple Resources?

Utilizing multiple resources, including a variety of databases and journals, give researchers more comprehensive insight into their field of interest. Some databases provide a breadth of literature, while other databases may choose to focus on a specific aspect. Expanding your search strategy to accommodate multiple resources offer a greater chance of success in your research efforts.

Interlibrary Loan

If you need an article that you're unable to access through TWU Libraries, you can request it via ILLiad. To find out more or to submit an interlibrary loan request, please click here.

Databases

These lists of databases represent a core selection that pertain to the subject area. If you wish to find more databases, please review our A to Z List of Databases.

Selected Help for Cochrane & PubMed Database Use

Cochrane Library

What is the Cochrane Library?
Cochrane Training (Online Learning) - learn how to conduct, edit, and read systematic reviews

PubMed

PubMed Help Guide - for answers to frequently asked questions (ex. what to do if part of your article citation is missing).
PubMed Video Tutorials - video tutorials produced by the National Library of Medicine
Advanced Search in PubMed
What is the National Library of Medicine? (video)

PubMed
PubMed contains more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
CINAHL Complete
Offers access to journals related to nursing and allied health, with full-text coverage for more than 1,400 journals. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, dissertations, standards of practice, and more.
ScienceDirect
1,500+ scientific,engineering, technical and medical peer-reviewed journals and 11,000 books. Contains scientific journal articles, citations, and full-text articles.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 4 million bibliographic records centered on psychology and related disciplines.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and more.
SPORTDiscus
SPORTDiscus offers literature for sports and sports medicine research, with access to over 600 full-text journals. Subjects include clinical specialties such as orthopedics, coaching and education, consumer health, exercise science and fitness, physical education and therapy, and more.
Cochrane Library
Includes reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Provides information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. Consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases.

REHABDATA
The REHABDATA database, maintained by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, spans almost 50 years of disability and rehabilitation research. More than 200,000 abstracts are available through this database, including approximately 115,000 records originally indexed by CIRRIE (Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange).
DARE: Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
DARE includes systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health and social care interventions and the delivery and organisation of health and social care services. Also included are reviews of the wider determinants of health such as housing, and transport where these impact directly on health, or have the potential to impact on health and wellbeing. (Database ceased indexing new articles in 2015)
EBRSR: Evidence-Based Review of Stroke Rehabilitation
Evidence-Based Review of Stroke Rehabilitation aims to maintain timely and accurate information on effective stroke rehabilitation, identify ideas for further research, support continuous peer-review and encourage improved evidence-based practice.
Repository@TWU
Repository@TWU is a repository of scholarly products that inform the disciplines of academia and the larger community. Repository@TWU is another means of highlighting and disseminating scholarly contributions by providing free and unrestricted access to the TWU community and beyond.
HSRProj
A database of citations to research-in-progress funded by federal and foundation grants and contracts. It includes over 32,000 citations to ongoing or recently completed research funded since 2000.

PQDT: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
ProQuest Dissertation & Theses offers a curated collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, with 5 million citations and 2.5 million full-text works from thousands of universities.
TWU Dissertations & Theses
Collection of dissertations and theses uploaded to Repository@TWU.
EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service
EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
OregonPDF in Health & Performance
OregonPDF in Health & Performance cooperates with colleges and universities throughout the world to make available graduate dissertations and theses in areas related to health and performance. There are almost 11,000 dissertations and theses, with a goal of adding between 100 and 150 each year.

If you need to locate a test with internal validity and reliability, use these databases listed below to search for your subject (such as hand strength) and find articles that discuss the reliability and validity of those tests. You may need to obtain access to the full-text version through one of our databases, through TWU Library Search.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Evaluation and measurement tools in health and psychosocial studies, questionnaires, checklists, rating scales, tests. Information is abstracted from hundreds of journals.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Contains full-text information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Limit of 4 concurrent users; if you receive a turnaway error, please try again later.