LibGuides: Multicultural Women’s and Gender Studies: MWGS Databases Available at TWU

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Ebooks reviewed and recommended by scholars.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Citation search for topics pertaining to indigenous peoples in North America.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history in the United States.
Black Women Writers This link opens in a new window
Primary source literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora.
BrowZine This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals in all subject areas.
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
Journals and newspapers printed between 1685 and 1835 covering many topics of eighteenth-century literary, political, and social life. Includes access to the full run of The Lady's Magazine, 1770-1832.
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
Essays, articles, reports, and other reliable sources about race, ethnicity, diversity, and inclusiveness throughout history and in today's society.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Primary resource documents and articles focused on issues that influence women’s lives across the globe.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in gender, sexuality, and women's studies.
HeinOnline: Social Justice Suite This link opens in a new window
Publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more Americans.
Access note: HeinOnline requires an additional subscription in order to view content in the Scholarly Articles, Catalog, or Case Law sections of the database. If you receive a "not subscribed" message, please return to accessible content. To do this easily, utilize the quick links at the bottom of the page, under the heading "This account, Texas Woman's University, is subscribed to:"
JSTOR Journals This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, primary sources and books, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Proceedings This link opens in a new window
Citation search of conference proceedings in most subjects.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in psychology.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology journal articles.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation search of peer-reviewed literature covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities.
Best viewed in Chrome. Close pop-up box and begin searching. To utilize additional features, users should register for a free Elsevier account.
Social Sciences in Video This link opens in a new window
Raw field recordings, documentaries, newsreels, counseling transcripts and sessions concerned with humanity.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology research resource with gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racism, religion, and social work content.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
Citation search of academic and scholarly journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters in most subject areas.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Journal article citations in science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences.
Women's Studies This link opens in a new window
Documentaries and films covering the study of gender, feminism, women’s history, media studies, and politics.
Women's Studies, International This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for journals, newsletters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, in women's studies, feminist research, sociology, history, international relations and humanities.

African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers and magazines by and about Black Americans from 1827 - 1902.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history in the United States.
Black Women Writers This link opens in a new window
Primary source literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Primary resource documents and articles focused on issues that influence women’s lives across the globe.
Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new window
Primary source books and documents on women's history and feminism from 1543-1945.
JSTOR Journals This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, primary sources and books, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
NCCO: Women and Transnational Networks This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents—books, manuscripts, diaries, reports, and visuals—focusing on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century, all through a transnational perspective.
North American Women’s Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Primary source material from women’s diaries and correspondence spanning more than 300 years, from Colonial times to 1950, presenting the detailed personal experiences of hundreds of women.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary source material from women's interest magazines covering events, trends, and attitudes from the late-19th century through 2005.
Women and Social Movements, International This link opens in a new window
Primary source writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Primary resource documents, articles, and teaching tools focused on women's activism in public life and social movements in the United States.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Online magazine preserving the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.

British Library Research Repository
"The British Library Research Repository is an open access repository for the research produced by staff and research associates of the British Library."

Dissertations & Theses at Texas Woman's University (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses produced by TWU students. New TWU dissertations and theses are uploaded to the Repository@TWU
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Open access to free electronic theses and dissertations in all subjects, provided through collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) This link opens in a new window
Open access dissertations and theses in all subjects provided by the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD).
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new window
Open access dissertations and theses in all subjects provided by the OATD.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT) This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses in all subject areas from universities around the world.

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Primary source material in American history.
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers and magazines by and about Black Americans from 1827 - 1902.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Archival collection descriptions and information about the institutions where the collections are kept.
Dallas Morning News This link opens in a new window
Dallas, TX online local newspaper with content from local, regional and national sources.
Non-subscriber access only. Access may be restricted by a paywall which is triggered by and tightens with sustained use.
Dallas Morning News Historical Archive (1885-1985) This link opens in a new window
Dallas Morning News articles published from 1885-1985.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
News articles from U.S. and international newspapers, and TV and radio transcripts.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
Associated Press and other world-wide newswires from the past 30 days.
New York Times (NYT) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
National newspaper publishing the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences.
New York Times Archive (1857-1922) This link opens in a new window
Citation search through articles published by the New York Times (NYT) from Sep 14, 1857 - Dec 31, 1922. The (NYT) is a national newspaper that publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences.
Pennsylvania Newspaper Record This link opens in a new window
Transcriptions of articles, advertisements and vital statistics, providing insight into technology, business activity and material culture in a down-river milling and manufacturing community at the height of the Industrial Revolution.
News & Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search across all ProQuest News databases simultaneously.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Business journal articles and newspapers.
US South Central Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News content from U.S. national and regional newspapers.
Web News This link opens in a new window
Real-time access to top news feeds from around the globe.

Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Explore topics being debated in contemporary society.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opinion pieces, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio about social issues.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable reference books in multiple subject areas.

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, educational films, and news clips in many subject areas. Transcripts available.
Diversity in Video This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, interviews, biographies, performances, and lectures that illuminate the challenges, triumphs, and issues facing underrepresented, indigenous, and immigrant communities around the world.
Kanopy Videostreaming This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of educational films and documentaries.

Not all films are licensed for immediate streaming. Faculty may request access to a film by submitting the form through Kanopy.
Politics & Current Affairs in Video This link opens in a new window
Films, documentaries and investigative journalism series that delve into the most critical issues of the day, linking together politics and current affairs and examining them within a larger social, economic and cultural backdrop.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
Newsreels, archival footage, and documentaries about world history.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
Newsreels, archival footage, and documentaries about world history.
Literature & Language in Video This link opens in a new window
Interviews, biographies, and surveys of regional literature and literary periods from around the world.

Search Tips

Truncation

brings up any word ending

such as adolescents or adolescence

Adolesc*

Quotation " "

to keep words together as a phrase and will only retrieve results that contain the exact phrase or group of words between the quotes “Young Adult”

Parentheses

to group words together in a more complex search

(Teen* OR youth OR kid OR young adult OR adolescent) AND "social media"

Boolean Operators

to retrieve results that contain either word

Women OR Female

AND

to retrieve results that have both keywords

Women AND Children

NOT

to exclude results that have the unwanted keyword

Women NOT Girls