Unlimited users. Users must register for a free LearningExpress account to access content.
1,000 online practice tests and 200 books. Test Preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources. Includes GED, ACT, SAT, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, Certifications, Licensing, Health Care, Civil Service, Aptitude tests. TExES PPR, STARR, NCLEX-RN.
Sleeping Dogs Don't Lay by Richard Lederer; Richard Dowis; Jim McLean (Illustrator)For years Richard Lederer has enthralled fans of the English language with his keen insights, commonsense advice, and witty presentation. Now Lederer has teamed up with Richard Dowis to take readers on another journey through the world's most wonderful, albeit perplexing, language. How many times have we all heard the word viable used in company meetings? Lederer and Dowis show us how "viable," somewhere along the line, was extracted from medical books, where it literally means "capable of living," and placed into the business lexicon, where it means...well, who knows?
The authors clear up once and for all the confusion between lay and lie and put to rest some common myths about language. The book's finale is a ten-minute writing lesson from which everyone, from rank amateur to seasoned pro, can benefit. These and dozens of other features make this book pure pleasure for language buffs, writers, and teachers. Sleeping Dogs Don't Lay is useful and authoritative as well as fun to read, with humorous touches often popping up where least expected and most needed.
Call Number: PE1112 .L38 1999
Publication Date: 1999-09-10
New St. Martin's Handbook by Alyce Lunsford; Robert ConnorsWith 2001 APA Update ... The New St. Martin's Handbook is a style guide on how to use grammar, punctuation, capitilization, sentences, the writing process, study skills, and so much more - for any writer or student. The book also gives specific guidelines when writing specific types of papers or letters.
Call Number: PE1112 .L86 2001
Publication Date: 2001-04-01
Woe Is I by Patricia T. O'ConnerPatricia T. O’Conner unties the knottiest grammar tangles and displays the same lively humor that has charmed and enlightened grateful readers for years. With new chapters on spelling and punctuation, and fresh insights into the rights, wrongs, and maybes of English grammar and usage, Woe Is I offers down-to-earth explanations and plain-English solutions to the language mysteries that bedevil all of us:
• Avoid the persistent (and persistently embarrassing) grammatical errors that bewilder the best andthe brightest
• Pronounce and spell words that even the smartest people mangle
• Correctly use hundreds of woefully abused words and phrases
Call Number: PE1112 .O28 1998
Publication Date: 1998-08-01
Words Fail Me by Patricia T. O'ConnerAnd not a minute too soon! Armed with our laptops and our PCs, we're the writing-est generation ever, cranking out e-mail, Web pages, electronic bulletin board postings, not to mention office memos, faxes, reports, newsletters, school papers, even memoirs and novels. But many of us were never taught how to write a sentence that makes sense, how to make sure our words do justice to our ideas. The result? Never have so many written so much so badly. Patricia T. O'Conner comes to the rescue with Words Fail Me, a practical and witty guide to the elements of good writing. She takes you through the writing process step by step. Pat O'Conner has done it again. So, there'll be no more staring blankly at an empty screen. Words Fail Me will charm the good writer out of you.
Write Right! by Jan VenoliaIn this age of electronic correspondence and self-produced documents, we need a useful and reliable writing guide more than ever. WRITE RIGHT! covers the essentials of good writing in a concise and easy-to-follow format. The new edition of this classic handbook takes you through the entire writing process, from understanding the parts of speech to constructing a correct sentence to fine-tuning the mechanics. And with clever drawings and amusing quotations to illustrate its points, WRITE RIGHT! shows that language can be fun as well as an effective communication tool. Whether it'¬?s used to find a quick answer to a nagging question or to develop stronger writing skills, this handy reference is the ideal resource for writers of all levels.‚Ä¢ Previous editions have sold over 500,000 copies. Includes a resource section with a list of helpful websites and a glossary to quickly define difficult terms.
Call Number: PE1112 .V4 1988
Publication Date: 1988
Grammar and Writing Skills for the Health Professional by Browning Staff; Doreen Villemaire; Lorraine VillemaireThe Elements and Style of Writing for the Allied Health Professional is the first text to exclusively address the writing concerns of health professionals, as well as students preparing for employment. the text applies the fundamentals of the writing process and English grammar to the sentence and paragraph structures used in medical reporting, charting and documentation. chapter exercises place emphasis on proofreading medical documents, a key skill for all health care workers. Lessons relate to activities routinely performed in a health care setting, illustrating the relevance between education and job performance. *Includes brief explanations of medical documents and reports such as SOAP notes, the History and Physical, Operative, Consultation, Radiography, Pathology Reports and Discharge Summary *Emphasis on grammar provides health care workers and students with a solid foundation to write and proofread medical documents effectively *Works as a text or office reference *Easy to use due to clear, concise writing and explicit examples
Call Number: PE1116.M44 V55 2001
Publication Date: 2001-01-03
Style by Joseph M. WilliamsWilliams’ own clear, accessible style models the kind of writing that audiences–both in college and after–will admire. The principles offered here help writers understand what readers expect and encourage writers to revise to meet those expectations more effectively. This book is all you need to understand the principles of effective writing.
Call Number: PE1421 .W545 2007
Publication Date: 2006-12-05
On Writing Well by William ZinsserThis is a revised edition of the reference book for writers. it is a guide to writing nonfiction in various forms (business materials, criticism, humor, memoir, interview, science, sports, travel, and other writings. Examples of "good writing" are given.