Skip to Main Content

Open Educational Resources at TWU

A resource to learn more about OER, finding OER, evaluating OER, applying for OER mini-grants, and the impact of OER on TWU's community.

While specific resources can be found on this page, here are some more general resources.

Feel free to browse these-- not everything from these larger resources is listed in this LibGuide, and there may be a hidden gem or a new resource that has been added since this page was last updated.

Open Educational Resources

George Washington U School of Nursing Open Educational Resources

  • GW School of Nursing's collection of Open Educational Resources (OERs) are for use by nurse educators worldwide. Create an account and gain access to modules that include Affirmative and Inclusive Healthcare, Medical Terminology, and Nurses on the Frontline.

ISBN Search Tool

  • Enter an ISBN from a textbook, and Cal State's ISBN Search Tool will give you a list of open educational resources that approximate the textbook. The ISBN Search Tool also provides ancillary resources related to the textbook.

Nursing at Open Learn

  • Open University's Open Learn course materials and other educational resources are open access. Visitors don't need to register as students. Open Learn contains courses, activities, audio, and video.

Openi Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine

  • Open-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.,) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections.

Open RN Project

  • OER nursing textbooks and virtual simulations collaboratively developed by faculty based on the Wisconsin Technical College System State Nursing curriculum and the current NCLEX-RN Test Plan. Textbooks undergo national peer review by faculty, deans, industry members, and nursing students.

Teaching Future Nurses

  • This website is a source of activities nurse educators can use in the classroom, online, or for clinical to enhance student learning. Teaching Future Nurses resides within Merlot.org, a source for open educational materials from the California State University System.

Explore the following links to find journal articles free full text straight from the publishers.

Locate free ebooks:

DOAB Directory of Open Access Books

  • Free access to peer-reviewed academic ebooks in all subjects.

HathiTrust Digital Library

  • HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

MIT Press Open

  • The MIT Press provides free downloads of monographs on a wide range of subjects.

National Academies Press (NAP)

  • Established by the National Academy of Sciences, NAP publishes on a wide array of topics in science, engineering, and medicine.

NLM Bookshelf

  • From the National Library of Medicine, free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Search, read, discover.

OAPEN

  • OAPEN - Online library and publication platform which includes quality-controlled scholarly academic content 

OASIS - Openly Available Sources Integrated Search

  • OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search) is a handy tool developed by SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library for comprehensive searches for free educational content.

OpenStax

  • Hosted by Rice University, collection of peer-reviewed free-to-use digital textbooks. May also order physical copies.

Project Gutenberg

  • Project Gutenberg includes literary and other intellectual works in many languages.

unglue.it

  • unglue.it aggregates books that are distributed with an open license or are in the public domain.