Open Educational Resources at TWU

Directory of Open Access Books

• This resource indexes peer-reviewed academic books in different languages published by over 100 publishers.

OAPEN Library

• University presses and publishers from different countries have made their scholarly monographs in Humanities and Social Sciences freely downloadable through the OAPEN Library.

MIT Press Open

• The MIT Press provides free downloads of monographs on a wide range of subjects.

National Academies Press (NAP)

• Established by the National Academy of Sciences, NAP publishes on a wide array of topics in science, engineering, and medicine.

University Press of Kentucky (UPK) Books

• More than 1,000 titles published by UPK are freely accessible to the faculty and students of the University of Kentucky via UKnowledge.

UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004

• Hundreds of books published by the University of California Press are freely accessible through this portal.

OpenEdition Books

• OpenEdition features open access books in the humanities and social sciences published in different European languages.

SciELO Livros

• SciELO Livros publishes online academic books written in Spanish and Portuguese.

CLACSO Libros

• Supported by the Latin American Council of Social Sciences, CLACSO Libros provides free access to academic books from Latin American countries and other continents.

HathiTrust Digital Library

• Thousands of out-of-copyright books digitized by academic libraries are available via HathiTrust. Requires linkblue login at the HathiTrust site.

Project Gutenburg

• Project Gutenberg includes literary and other intellectual works in many languages.

unglue.it: Free Books

• This page from unglue.it aggregates books that are distributed with an open license or are in the public domain.

​BCcampus OpenEd

• Founded in British Columbia, this site offers a variety of openly licensed textbooks for undergraduate studies.

College of the Canyons Open Educational Resources

• This page showcases and provides access to open textbooks made available by the College of the Canyons, including some specializing in water technology.

Grand Valley State University Open Textbooks

• These free textbooks are authored by faculty members at the Grand Valley State University.

Lumen Learning's Catalog

• This page lists Lumen Learning's free online courses and the accompanying textbooks.

Milne Open Textbooks

• Established by State University of New York libraries, this initiative publishes a growing list of peer-reviewed open access textbooks.

Portland State University Open Access Textbooks

• This is a collection of free, openly licensed textbooks published by the Portland State University Library.

Saylor Academy Open Textbooks

• Saylor Academy hosts a collection of openly licensed textbooks and open online courses.

University System of Georgia Open Textbooks

• With the facilitation of Affordable Learning Georgia, openly licensed textbooks on different subjects have been published by the University System of Georgia. Ancillary materials are also available.

Wisc-Online

• Maintained by Fox Valley Technical College, this portal provides access to learning objects in the fields of health, science, mathematics, technology, and general education

Mason OER Metafinder

• This repository will perform a simultaneous search across 19 different OER sources: OpenStax, OER Commons, MERLOT, HathiTrust, NYPL Digital Collections, and more!

MERLOT

• The MERLOT system searches OpenStax CNX, MIT Open Courseware, OER commons, Orange Grove, and other repositories for online learning and support materials uploaded by educators, learners, and researchers.

OASIS

• OASIS currently searches open content from 79 different sources and contains 324,517 records! OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.