Skip to Main Content
Bibliographic databases help you discover that an article exists but they often don't have the article PDF. Full-text databases have PDFs for most articles you find in them. Many library databases link to each other, so if one database doesn’t have the PDF, it links you to a database that does.
To access an article, look for the word “PDF” or “Full Text.” Clicking on one of these will either download the PDF file or will begin the process of linking you to where you can find the PDF file.
When the database contains the PDF, you’ll see a PDF icon or the word “PDF” located somewhere along the edge of the page, typically near the top or top-right. Click to view or download the PDF.
The image below shows PDF links from three databases: PubMed, Scopus and EBSCOhost.
If you don’t see a PDF download for the article in the database you’re searching, look for the words “Find Full Text” or a button that says “Find @ TWU.” Or there may be a hyperlink that says just “Full Text.”
Below is what this looks like in PubMed and EBSCOhost.
Depending on what you clicked, one of the following will happen:
The link will take you directly to the database where the PDF file is.
The link will take you to an in-between page where you will see a list of databases where the PDF file is. Click on any of the database names to find the article PDF.
The link will take you to an in-between page, but instead of showing a list of databases where the PDF file is, you’ll see a link that says “Submit Article Delivery Request.” Clicking this link take you to a page with a pre-filled form that you will submit to request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). You will need to use your normal TWU username and password to access the form.
ILL is free for you to use. The article you requested is typically delivered to you digitally within 1-2 business days.
If you ever experience difficulty accessing an article, contact your librarian for help!