Skip to Main Content
Art (Visual Arts)
Search this Guide
Art (Visual Arts)
Library and internet sources for the visual arts
Articles / Databases
Writing & Citing
Opportunities for Artists
Blagg- Huey Library
Denton, TX 76201
Databases for Visual Art
Art Index (H.W. Wilson)
is an art research database providing high-quality indexing of hundreds of national and international art journals. Coverage dates vary. Unlimited users.
ARTSTOR Open Access (OA)
Public art collections representing a broad range of content.
contains over three million, full-text articles in 1,250+ titles from 125+ publishers. Credo's coverage is encyclopedic.
has over 200,000 articles in 300 titles. Women's issues and gender issues are covered in conference proceedings, international publications, reports, pamphlets, and papers.
Journal articles, primary sources and books, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Wide variety of educational films and documentaries.
Not all films are licensed for immediate streaming. Faculty may request access to a film by submitting the form through Kanopy.
Oxford Art Online: Grove Art Online
Peer-reviewed articles, entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, and citations about all aspects of Visual Arts. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Journal articles in literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
Women's Studies, International
Indexing and abstracts for journals, newsletters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, in women's studies, feminist research, sociology, history, international relations and humanities.
Academic Search Complete
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Documentaries, educational films, and news clips in many subject areas. Transcripts available.
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale's Virtual Reference Library)
Cross-searchable reference books in multiple subject areas.
Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center
Hobby and craft magazines, videos, profiles, recipes and more.
APA Style Blog
EasyBib: MLA8 Cite Artwork
A Guide to MLA Citations Tutorial
The MLA Style Center
Purdue OWL: MLA8
Art news Via Art Daily
Arts Journal ~ Daily News
New York Times ~ ArtsBeat
Juried Art Exhibits
Dissertation Abstracts Online & ProQuest Digital Dissertations (PQDT)
Dissertations and theses in all subject areas from universities around the world.
Dissertations & Theses at Texas Woman's University (ProQuest)
Dissertations and theses produced by TWU students. New TWU dissertations and theses are uploaded to the
EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service
Open access to full text and citations of UK doctoral theses in all subject areas dating back to 1800.
Articles / Databases >>
Oct 13, 2021 10:47 AM
Report a problem