LibGuides: SCI 2113: Earth Science: Global Perspective: Articles / Databases

Articles / Databases

These databases are recommended specifically for the research you are doing in this course.

Getting Started

These databases contain information that can help introduce you to complex scientific topics in a way that is easier to understand. Once you have background knowledge of the topic, you can move on to reading the original scientific studies.

Deep Dive

After doing some background research and reading to understand your topic better, search these databases for more detailed articles.

JSTOR Journals This link opens in a new window
Database is good for researching topics relating to history, policy, and culture. There are also some scientific journals.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Good for information about environmental justice and environmental sociology. Use filters to limit your search results to peer-reviewed articles.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Good for information about business and economics as it relates to the environment. Use filters to limit your search results to peer-reviewed articles.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Good for information about a wide range of topics relating to the environment. Use filters to limit your search results to peer-reviewed articles.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Contains well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Sustainability Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Includes research about corporate social responsibility, environmental stewardship, federal, state, and local regulations, green issues and initiatives.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Contains articles and book chapters about primarily science topics, but also has some business and social content.