One of the largest medical databases available. Always a good place to start your searching.
28+ million records in 30+ languages, encompassing the largest biomedical research and clinical health sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical and bioengineering database in any language, with full text scholarly peer-reviewed and some limited popular information from 5,600+ journals, plus full text and peer reviewed books, dissertations, software. Excellent standards of care and evidence-based nursing, some legal case and conference proceedings and other health sciences. 34,000+ records added annually. Medline citations are included and updated daily.
Full-text availability subject to TWU Libraries subscription status. Click the Find It @ TWU button to search the Libraries catalog. Create your own My NCBI account
Contains many research article about nutrition and especially food science.
Includes content from the ScienceDirect Freedom collection, as well as al la carte titles. Provides access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries and other publishers whose online journals are hosted by ScienceDirect.
Ebooks: Selected titles from Elsevier and its subsidiaries are included. These ebooks are DRM-free with unlimited users and PDF chapter downloads/printing.
Large database containing high-impact research articles. Allows you to sort your results by how many times each article has been cited or used by other researchers. The more times an article has been cited, the higher impact it has had.
Covers more than 12,000 journals in all subject areas. Also includes citations to conference proceedings.
The default selection for searching is for all the citation databases and for all years of coverage; both selections can be changed from the main search screen at the time that you select your search.
Choose Search in order to search the database by topic, author journal or address. This search includes articles, reports, books and book reviews and may be searched by keyword (topic searching), author (person searching), institution, or geographical area.
Choose Cited Reference Search to search for articles that cite an author or work. This search includes the list of references at the end of articles and will allow you to search by the cited author, cited work, cited year or a combination of the three.
Choose Advanced Search to combine aspects of the other two searches.
This database is large and contains both on a variety of subjects--not just nutrition. You will find fewer research articles on nutrition in this database, but you may discover articles you didn't find elsewhere. Be sure to use filters to limit your results to only PEER REVIEWED articles.
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage note: A "PDF Full Text" or "HTML Full Text" link indicates available full text access. TWU Libraries may not subscribe to all titles on this platform: full access is not guaranteed. If you wish to obtain a copy of something the library does not have access to, please submit an Interlibrary Loan request. Visit this page for more information on how to submit an ILL request.