Recommended Resources

Health Care Resources

PubMed
Citation search for journal articles in health and life sciences. Links to full text and catalog search for availability.
Medline (OVID)
Medical information including nursing, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences, and dentistry, veterinary medicine.
CINAHL Complete
Nursing and allied health journals.
Gale Health and Wellness
Medical journals, magazines, reference works, and images on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Scholarly journal articles, reference books, pamphlets, and videos covering most healthcare topics.
Health Research Premium Collection
Journal articles, evidence-based resources, and dissertations in a variety of essential health content. Includes access to MEDLINE.
ScienceDirect
Journal articles in science, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.
Scopus
Citation search of peer-reviewed literature covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities.
Best viewed in Chrome. Close pop-up box and begin searching. To utilize additional features, users should register for a free Elsevier account.
Web of Science
Journal article citations in science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences.

Business and Statistics

Business Source Complete
Articles, market, industry and SWOT analysis reports, studies, and other business news.
Emerald Premier
Journals about management, library and information services, engineering, applied science and technology.
Legal Collection
Scholarly law journals on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Legal Information Source
Legal reference books, tools, and how-to instructions for a wide-range of legal issues.
Mergent Market Atlas (formerly Mergent Online)
Corporate, business, and industry data and reports.
OECD Health Statistics
Statistics related to health and health systems dating back to 1960.
Plunkett Research Online
Industry sector analysis and research, industry trends and industry statistics. Provides competitive intelligence, market research, vertical industry marketing data, and industry trends analysis.
Statista
Statistics, reports, infographics and data points in most subject areas and topics from around the world.

Accessing Journals through TWU Libraries

Look for relevant journals by entering in their title, a general subject such as occupational or physical therapy, or the topic you are investigating, e.g. stroke.

Journal Search
Use the Journal Search in our online catalog to browse or find specific titles.

Screen grab of TWU Libraries website showing journal search

Common Journals for HCA Topics

Accessing eBooks through TWU Libraries

TWUniversal

Screen grab of search engine on TWU Libraries website

Once you have your search results, use the options on the left to select for "full text online" and "books." (You can access these options through the filter or funnel icon toward the top of your screen on your mobile device.)
Click on "apply filters" to see your new results.

Screen grab of TWU Libraries online catalog and filters for full text online and books

Other Ways to Search for eBooks

Ebook Central
Books in almost every subject area. Proquest.
Ebook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Academic and popular books.
TDS Health
Medical reference books and textbooks. Mobile app access must be set up on the full website from a desktop computer and must be renewed from the full website every 6 months.

Background Reading

Health Care Information Systems by Karen A. Wager; Frances W. Lee; John P. Glaser
The newest version of the acclaimed text that offers the fundamental knowledge and tools needed to manage information and information resources effectively within a wide variety of health care organizations.
Hospital and Healthcare Security by Tony W. York; Don MacAlister
Building on the foundation of the previous five editions, this edition includes new and updated chapters to reflect the current state of healthcare security, particularly in data security and patient privacy, patient-generated violence, and emergency preparedness and management.
Health Care Systems Around the World by Sarah E. Boslaugh
Provides a one-stop point of research that examines major aspects of health care systems for over 190 countries worldwide.

Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
The lead federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of healthcare for all Americans. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the healthcare system and help consumers, healthcare professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions.
American Hospital Association
As the national organization that represents and serves all types of hospitals, health care networks, and their patients and communities, they collect lots of data on hospitals and healthcare.
CDC: Centers for Disease Control
Provides users with credible, reliable health information on such topics as data and statistics, diseases and conditions, emergencies and disasters, environmental health, and more.
Commonwealth Fund
Promotes a high-performing healthcare system that achieves better access and greater efficiency. Includes tools and data resources.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
Uses Medicare and Medicaid data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
Demographic and Health Surveys
DHS has a ready-to-use data for over 90 countries from over 300 surveys
Global Health Data Exchange
HealthData.gov
Makes high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
National Center for Health Statistics
The Nation's principal health statistics agency. NCHS compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people.
Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan fact tank that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
State Health Facts
Collected by KFF, formerly the Kaiser Family Foundation, this site allows users to explore and map health indicators by state.
UK Department of Health & Social Care
Government publications and reports on a variety of topics related to public and social health in the U.K.
UK Health Security Agency (UKHSA)
Governmental reports on infectious diseases, chemical, biological, radiological and nuclear incidents and other health threats.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Browse their Data Tools to look at information under Industry at a Glance, which includes information on healthcare and hospitals, or search for a profession to get the latest reports on wages, employment and more.
U.S. Census Bureau
Use their topics menu to explore health subjects like disability, insurance, social assistance and more.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Information on products regulated by the FDA: Human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, our nation's food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.
U.S. Government Publishing Office
Information resources published across federal governmental institutions.
World Health Organization
Global health information and data. Can be browsed by topic or country.

Texas Health Data

Healthy North Texas
Seeks to improve the health of North Texas residents through data collection, identification of areas for improvement and collaborative efforts to address the needs of North Texans.
Texas Department of State Health Services
Collects data and statistics on health-related topics across the state.
Dallas County Health Advisories, Data and Reports Overview
Includes local data on epidemiology statistics, health advisories, and more.
Denton County Needs Assessment
Community and statistical data collected by the United Way.