Skip to main content

ART 4363: Community-Focused Design Studio

This guide provides sources for ART 4363 projects. Each source explores graphic design in relation to social advocacy and an overview of contemporary concepts that define "Design for Good."

Librarian

Susan Whitmer's picture
Susan Whitmer
Contact:
TWU Libraries
P.O. Box 425528
Denton, TX 76204

SWhitmer@twu.edu
940-898-3739

DFW Art Colleges

According to universities.com, these are the best fine art colleges in DFW:

  • Southern Methodist University
  • Texas Christian University
  • University of North Texas
  • Texas A & M Commerce
  • Texas Woman's University
  • Dallas Baptist University
  • University of Dallas
  • University of Texas at Arlington

TWU Virtual Art Day Project

This page lists resources for your project "TWU Virtual Art Day." To prepare for the event, you will research websites for "college art day" and "college portfolio day" at other institutions. Other research areas include recruiting high school students, the S.W.O.T. analysis, and

the benefits of an art education.

College Art Day

To locate sources for Virtual Art Day or Virtual Portfolio Day at at other institutions, use the search prompts: "Name of Institution" AND "Portfolio Review" OR "College Art Day" OR "Portfolio Day" OR "Art Day." Also see "National Portfolio Day."

To locate articles for Virtual Art Day, try this sample search:

  1. Start at the TWU Libraries' home page, twu.edu/library
  2. Select Advanced Search
  3. Enter this search phrase on the first line, "Virtual Art Day"
  4. For Resource Type, select Articles 
  5. Select Search
  6. On the left side of the results list, use the filters: Full-text, Refine the dates to 2010 to 2020, and select of few Subjects.

Other search terms:

"School of the Art Institute of Chicago" AND "Portfolio Day"

"Rhode Island School of Design" AND "Portfolio Day"

"Virtual College Art Day"

"National Portfolio Day"

Find Articles for College/University Recruiting

To locate articles for college/university recruiting, try this sample search:

  1. Start at the TWU Libraries' home page, twu.edu/library
  2. Select Advanced Search
  3. Enter this search phrase on the first line, "college recruiting" OR "university recruiting"
  4. For Resource Type, select Articles 
  5. Select Search
  6. On the left side of the results list, use the filters: Full-text, Refine the dates to 2010 to 2020, and select of few Subjects.

Research & SWOT Analysis: Visual Arts Programs in DFW

Research & SWOT Analysis: Visual Arts Programs in DFW

Use this page for your assignment to locate sources for the SWOT analysis and visual art programs in the Dallas - Fort Worth area. SWOT stands for Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats. A few examples of SWOT include enrollment numbers, the variety of visual art programs, tuition, location, faculty, student-to-faculty ratio, diversity, and alumni.

How to search for visual arts programs in the Dallas-Fort Worth area:

  1. In your browser, enter the name of one of the following institutions AND one of the following sample searches: 
    1. Name of institution AND campus profile OR facts
    2. Name of institution AND art department OR art program
  2. Search for undergraduate programs and graduate programs. 
  3. According to universities.com, these are the best fine art colleges in DFW:
    • Southern Methodist University
    • Texas Christian University
    • University of North Texas
    • Texas A & M Commerce
    • Texas Woman's University
    • Dallas Baptist University
    • University of Dallas
    • University of Texas at Arlington

 

Advantages and disadvantages of a BFA OR majoring in art.

To locate articles for "advantages and disadvantages of an art degree OR art education", try Google Scholar, the Internet, and Education databases. Use alternate search terms: advantage OR benefit, art degree or art education. Sample search:

  1. Start at the TWU Libraries' home page, twu.edu/library
  2. Select Databases>Databases A-Z list>All Subjects>Education 
  3. Try a variety of education databases and enter your search terms, example: "benefits of an arts degree OR art education"
  4. Select Search
  5. On the left side of the results list, use the filters: Full-text and select of few Subjects.

Also search Google Scholar, see "Studio Thinking: The Real Benefits of Arts Education," related articles.