LibGuides: Kinesiology: Articles / Databases

Why use articles?

Articles provide some of the most up-to-date and advanced information on a topic. They are excellent for determining what researchers are studying and what they have found on specific topics.

Tip: If you are needing basic and introductory information on a topic, use books or encyclopedias instead of articles.

Journals Online

Can't find the article you need?

If TWU Libraries does have print or electronic access to the journal you need, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan. The library will request the book for you from another library. You will need to set up an ILLiad account first.

For more information on Interlibrary Loan services go to the Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery website.

Kinesiology & Sports Databases

Each of the following databases contains a unique collection of articles related to kinesiology, education, health, and more. Be sure to search more than one database for your information.

Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
Citation search for scholarly and trade literature covering physical and health education, kinesiology, sport sociology and psychology, and other related topics.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, training, coaching, and physical education content.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in science, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Recommended interface. Journal articles, books, and curriculum guides in education research.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Recommended interface Medical information including nursing, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences, and dentistry, veterinary medicine.

Related Databases

These databases contain information related to some aspects of kinesiology.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Citation search of journals covering health and psychosocial sciences. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Medical journals, magazines, reference works, and images on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, reference books, pamphlets, and videos covering most healthcare topics.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.

Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science searches thousands of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Search articles that have cited a given article.

Dissertation Databases

Dissertations often contain good primary research. They contain excellent bibliographies for students to consult when compiling literature reviews.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT) This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses in all subject areas from universities around the world.
Dissertations & Theses at Texas Woman's University (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses produced by TWU students. New TWU dissertations and theses are uploaded to the Repository@TWU
EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service This link opens in a new window
Open access to full text and citations of UK doctoral theses in all subject areas dating back to 1800.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a database?

Databases house articles from journals and magazines and make them searchable. No single database contains all journals or articles, so it is best to search multiple databases.

What is a journal?

The term journal is often used for publications that contain academic articles. Journals can be issued once per year, twice per year, or even weekly. Each issue of the journal contains new articles. These issues are later combined to create volumes.

What is a scholarly or peer-reviewed article?

Some journals require article submissions to go through a peer review process before being accepted for publication. During this process, experts from the same field as the author review the article to ensure that research methods are sound and that the article advances the field of study. This process prevents the publication of articles that make false claims and misinform readers.