Skip to main content

Health Care Administration: Houston

Health care administration research guide for TWU students, faculty and staff.

Evidence Based Practice PICO Worksheet

Use the EBP Worksheet above to define your research question using PICO(T).

Identify:
Problem
Intervention
Comparison Groups
Outcomes

PICO in Many Languages: More Searching Help

PubMed/Mesh Simplified Search 2020

 Enter PubMed  Database  then click Advanced. Enter a term (obesity) and click Search. On the right, click ADD then Search to see results page. At the results screen, click limits on the left including  Full text, Publication date (5 years) Humans and  English  as preferred. Clicking additional filters lets you limit by article type, ages of the subjects, and more.  Click an article title, then Find It @TWU button and input your Pioneer Portal to open full text or to submit an interlibrary loan request. Click email to send. One method to save the citation(s) to your RefWorks account is to choose citations in your screen, click Save then RIS and Create File to save to your desktop. Open your RefWorks account, and Import a file from your computer by finding the file you saved on your desktop with Open and Import PubMed database changed in January, 2020 with streamlined searching. Video on PubMed 2020 is available here. See PubMed training here.

Interlibrary Loan

Need an article?  Don't have access? 
Request it via ILLiad!

Please know that "Textbooks, reference, non-circulating,media materials, and Houston Reserve Items may not be requested through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)."

Mobile Access

Library Mobile Phone Logo

Use your mobile
device to search our
databases, renew
books, & more!

Databases

NEED A FEW GOOD ARTICLES?   Go to a database like Academic Search Complete, ask for your subjects one in each search box, and click Search with And, Then see your results numbers at the right of the screen.  Move down on the left, Limit your articles to those in  Full Text and the last five years to see the latest on your topic. Export to your RefWorks account to create a beautiful bibliography, too! Training is available on some of the databases here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LwdvCs9aFKQ&feature=youtu.be.

 

Need help creating search stategies? Try this video of DIY Search Navigation - A Guide to Basic Searching

Internet Databases

Tests and Measurements Databases

Do you need to find a test with internal validity and reliability? Use these two databases to search on your subject (like hand strength) and then see journal articles and more written about  the reliability and validity of such tests, telling you what level of trained person is needed to conduct the test and also revealing the quality of the test, among other essential factors . Find the fulltext of the articles in another database like PubMed, Academic Search, or at TWU Libraries E-Journals (above, on this page), and you have all the great full text you need to succeed! 

Dissertation Databases

All Databases

Important People

Who are the VIP's in HCA?  Who are the movers and shakers?  Who are the ones to watch? The Database Marquis Biographies Online  found at Who's Who on the Web includes current and historic people from the year 1607 to the present. Find 'Who's Who in Medicine and Healthcare" and "Who's Who in Nursing" particular sources to find the leaders you need to know in the ever changing world of Health Care Administration!

Talking Book: Help for the Impaired

APA 6th ed Style and DOIs

The American Psychological Association (APA) Publication Manual, 6th edition, published in 2010, has been updated with the 7th edition, published in 2020.  See APA 7th to review the differences between the 6th and 7th editions.  Check with your faculty to determine which edition to use.  Both editions are available through TWU libraries.