Internet Resources - Health Care Administration - Houston - LibGuides at Texas Womans University

Internet Gateways

Managed Care Plans - also try Competitive Medical Plans Health Maintenance Organizations
Independent Practice Associations Patient Freedom of Choice Laws Preferred Provider Organizations

Insurance, Health- also try For-Profit Insurance Plans Health Benefit Plans, Employee
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act Insurance, Accident
Insurance, Major Medical

Patient Rights- also try Confidentiality Informed Consent Patient Access to Records
Right to Die Treatment Refusal

Medlineplus Mobile
Understanding Medical Terminology
From the US federal government, a tutorial that will help you identify the words and parts of words that identify different anatomical locations, disease state, disorders, and more.

The Federal Trade Commission protects US consumers in healthcare and other fields, with a Business Center and a Consumer Tips & Advice section at https://www.ftc.gov/tips-advice. En Español,tweet https://twitter.com/laftc Connectivity is at https://www.ftc.gov/stay-connected

Google Scholar
Health Sciences Occupations Job Outlook
more... less...

The USBLS provides free, online linkages to a comprehensive collection of top-quality information and references in medicine, public health, pharmacy, dentistry, nursing, basic sciences, and other health sciences disciplines' job descriptions and employment potentials.
National Center for Health Statistics
more... less...

As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, we compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people. We are a unique public resource for health information - a critical element of public health and health policy.
National Library of Medicine
more... less...

A Web-based system that lets users search simultaneously in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It includes bibliographic resources, consumer health resources, and
other information resources.
POPLINE
more... less...

POPLINE®(POPulation information onLINE) contains citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues.
WISQARS
more... less...

WISQARS (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) is an interactive database system that provides customized reports of injury-related data.