LibGuides: Sexual Assault Awareness Month: Sexual Assault Awareness Month

Sexual Assault Awareness Month

Health Sciences Librarian

Joanna Russell Bliss

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Dallas Library Center, T. Boone Pickens Institute of Health Sciences

214-689-6585

Subjects: Health Care Administration, Nursing, Occupational Therapy

April Is Sexual Assault Awareness Month

Sexual assault happens everywhere and can happen to anyone of any gender. As defined by the National Sexual Violence Resource Center, sexual violence is ANY type of unwanted sexual contact.

The NSVRC emphasizes the importance of consent when it comes to sexual relationships, and it reminds us that society has often perpetuated norms that promote and protect those who assault rather than acknowledging that the victim is never at fault.

About Sexual Assault
This statement from the National Sexual Violence Resource Center defines sexual assault and its impact on the person and their community.

Recommended Resources

At TWU

Sexual Assault Resources
Helpful information for those who have been assaulted or know someone who has.
Relationship Resources
Includes tips on how to communicate with your partner, how to determine if your relationship is unhealthy, how to cope with a break up, and more.
TWU CampusWell Resources on Romantic Relationships
TWU Student Health Services supports this service, which includes advice on how to maintain healthy romantic relationships.
Student Resources for Mental Health
Includes links to a variety of counseling services, peer support, and self-help resources.
Counseling and Psychological Services
At TWU, CAPS supports the development of the whole person by fostering student resiliency, emotional well-being, interpersonal effectiveness and academic success.
Campus Policies on Sexual Violence and Harassment
Information on how to report sexual violence or misconduct. Texas Woman’s University is committed to a safe academic and working environment free from sexual misconduct.

In Dallas

Dallas Area Rape Crisis Center
Includes information about how to determine what to report, how to find an advocate, and what the process of filing a report may look like.
Texas Victim Resource Directory
A list of organizations that help victims of sexual violence and sexual assault, filtered for Dallas County. (Remove the filter for Dallas to see organizations for the entire state.)
Dallas Police Department: Victim Services
A list compiled by the Victim Services Unit of helpful links and phone numbers for organizations in Dallas that help victims of sexual violence or assault.
Genesis Women's Shelter and Support
Provides safety, shelter and support for women and children that are victims of domestic violence.

National Organizations

Books Available Through TWU Libraries

ABC of Domestic and Sexual Violence by Susan Bewley (Editor); Jan Welch (Editor)
A practical guide for all health care professionals who are looking after abused individuals (whether knowingly or not) and who wish to learn more in order to help their patients.
Advanced Health Assessment of Women by Helen Carcio; Helen Nelson Carcio; Mimi Clarke Secor
Presents the clinical skills needed to assess health and provide care to women of all of ages, with systematic reviews of all aspects of female mental and bodily health.
The Beginning and End of Rape: Confronting Sexual Violence in Native America by Sarah Deer *
Provides a clear historical overview of rape and sex trafficking in North America, paying particular attention to the gendered legacy of colonialism in tribal nations.
Blurred Lines by Vanessa Grigoriadis *
A riveting, indispensable illumination of the most crucial social change on campus in a generation.
Gender Based Violence in University Communities by Sundari Anitha (Editor); Ruth Lewis (Editor)
Provides an in-depth overview of research and practice in gender-based violence in universities.
Restorative Justice and Violence Against Women by James Ptacek (Editor)
Examines new justice practices for victims that are being used in the United States, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand. These informal, dialogue-based practices, referred to as "restorative justice," seek to decrease the role of the state in responding to crime, and increase the involvement of communities in meeting the needs of victims and offenders.
Violence Against Queer People by Doug Meyer *
Offers an investigation of anti-queer violence that focuses on the role played by race, class, and gender.
The Violence of Care: Rape Victims, Forensic Nurses, and Sexual Assault Intervention by Sameena Mulla *
Analyzes the ways in which nurses work to collect and preserve evidence while addressing the needs of sexual assault victims as patients.

Display

During the month of April, visit our physical display at the Dallas Library Center for helpful books and information. Resources with an asterisk are available in the display cabinet in Dallas.