Books are excellent for finding background information on a topic. This will help you understand your topic better before reading more detailed research articles from peer-reviewed journals.
These books can be accessed online.
Fields Virology: Emerging Viruses by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Now in four convenient volumes, Fields Virology remains the most authoritative reference in this fast-changing field, providing definitive coverage of virology, including virus biology as well as replication and medical aspects of specific virus families. This volume of Fields Virology: Emerging Viruses, Seventh Edition covers recent changes in emerging viruses, providing new or extensively revised chapters that reflect these advances in this dynamic field. Bundled with the eBook, which will be updated regularly as new information about each virus is available, including coronavirus and COVID-19, this text serves as the authoritative, up-to-date reference book for virologists, infectious disease specialists, microbiologists, and physicians, as well as medical students pursuing a career in infectious diseases. Covers both basic science and medical features of each virus, emphasizing viruses of medical importance and interest, while also including other viruses in specific cases where more is known about their mechanisms of replication or pathogenesis. Covers virus evolution, as well as Coronoviridae, Picornaviridae, Enteroviruses, Caliciviridae, Hepatitis C Virus, Filoviridae, Henipaviruses, Orthomyxoviruses, Bunyavirales, Arenaviridae, and much more. Features over 500 full-color illustrations, including key figures for use as lecture slides. Provides quick, flexible access to current information both in print and in an improved eBook format, searchable across all volumes. Discusses virus structure, virus entry, replication, and assembly, virus-host cell interactions, host immune responses and vaccines, antiviral therapeutics, virus evolution and immunization. New and forthcoming Fields Virology volumes, available in print and eBook format, which are sold separately: Emerging Viruses DNA Viruses RNA Viruses Fundamental Viruses Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Introduction to Modern Virology by
A broad introduction to virology, which includes the nature of viruses, the interaction of viruses with their hosts and the consequences of those interactions that lead to the diseases we see. This new edition contains a number of important changes and innovations including: The consideration of immunology now covers two chapters, one on innate immunity and the other on adaptive immunity, reflecting the explosion in knowledge of viral interactions with these systems. The coverage of vaccines and antivirals has been expanded and separated into two new chapters to reflect the importance of these approaches to prevention and treatment. Virus infections in humans are considered in more detail with new chapters on viral hepatitis, influenza, vector-borne diseases, and exotic and emerging viral infections, complementing an updated chapter on HIV. The final section includes three new chapters on the broader aspects of the influence of viruses on our lives, focussing on the economic impact of virus infections, the ways we can use viruses in clinical and other spheres, and the impact that viruses have on the planet and almost every aspect of our lives. A good basic understanding of viruses is important for generalists and specialists alike. The aim of this book is to make such understanding as accessible as possible, allowing students across the biosciences spectrum to improve their knowledge of these fascinating entities.
Virology: Principles and Applications by
The second edition of Virology is an accessible introduction designed to enable students to understand the principles of virus structure, replication and genetics. The aim of this book is to help the reader appreciate the relevance of virology in the modern world, including the fields of vaccines, anti-viral drugs and cancer. There is also a chapter on prions. The second edition has been extensively revised and updated to reflect the many developments in virology and offers deeper insights into the subject. Newly-discovered viruses are discussed and there is an additional chapter on the influenza virus.
Plant Virology by
The seminal text Plant Virology is now in its fifth edition. It has been 10 years since the publication of the fourth edition, during which there has been an explosion of conceptual and factual advances. The fifth edition of Plant Virology updates and revises many details of the previous edition while retaining the important earlier results that constitute the field's conceptual foundation. Revamped art, along with fully updated references and increased focus on molecular biology, transgenic resistance, aphid transmission, and new, cutting-edge topics, bring the volume up to date and maintain its value as an essential reference for researchers and students in the field. Thumbnail sketches of each genera and family groups Genome maps of all genera for which they are known Genetic engineered resistance strategies for virus disease control Latest understanding of virus interactions with plants, including gene silencing Interactions between viruses and insect, fungal, and nematode vectors Contains over 300 full-color illustrations
For items in 1st Floor Course Reserves, visit the library Information Desk. Give library staff the call number of the book you want to borrow. You must have your physical TWU ID card with you to borrow items. Many course reserve items may only be used in the library and have a checkout period of 2-4 hours typically.
Fields Virology by
Established for 20 years as the definitive virology reference, the two-volume classic Fields Virology is in its thoroughly revised, updated Fifth Edition. More than 100 world-renowned investigators provide encyclopedic coverage of every aspect of contemporary virology, including the pathogenesis of viral diseases and the molecular biology, replication, and clinical significance of all known virus families. This edition has many new international contributing authors and a greater emphasis on clinical relevance. Coverage includes new material on viruses and biodefense, emerging and re-emerging viruses, the human virome, mononegavirales, and henipaviruses. This edition also has a new two-color design and a revised art program unifying replication and virions images. A new bound-in CD-ROM contains a viral image bank.
To find books on specific types of viruses, search for the virus type (e.g. "oncolytic viruses") in the TWUniversal search and use search filters to limit your results to "Books," "Book Chapters," or "Electronic Books."