LibGuides: CHEM 3713: Environmental Chemistry I: Find Articles

Find Articles

Library Databases

Library databases containing articles about environmental chemistry.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A good database to start with. Use SUBJECT TERMS when searching to find more relevant articles. Use filters to limit your results to only peer reviewed articles.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This database is good for (1) finding highly-cited articles and (2) finding articles similar to one you found somewhere else.
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, and government publications about many science subjects.
ACS Web Editions This link opens in a new window
Chemistry journal articles by the American Chemical Society
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in science, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.
Sustainability Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Articles covering benchmarks & best practices, corporate social responsibility, environmental stewardship, federal, state, and local regulations, green issues and initiatives.

SciFinder Database

The most comprehensive database for chemical literature, searchable by topic, author, or substance. Includes reactions information.

Must create an account via New Users link below. After creating an account, database may only be accessed via the Returning Users link.

SciFinder n (Returning Users) This link opens in a new window
SciFinder n Registration (New Users) This link opens in a new window

Search Tips

1. Choose a database to search.

2. If available, go to the Advanced Search in the database you are using. This allows for more relevant and precise searching.

3. If available, use a Subject search term instead of a keyword. This will give you results about your topic instead of results that merely mention your search term.

Start with a broad/general subject search term.
If you have too many results, add another search term and/or use limiters (Date, Publication Type, etc.).
If you have too few or no results, try other search terms or use a keyword search and look for subject terms within those results that can be used in a new subject search.

4. Read abstracts and subject terms associated with the article to determine whether it will be relevant to your research.

5. If you have any trouble accessing the full-text version of an article, contact the library for assistance.

Phone: (940) 898-3701 Email: reference@mail.twu.edu