Skip to main content
Dissertation Help & Expert-Level Resources
When performing research for a Dissertation Literature Review, the search will be complex:
ADVICE: Create Citation Folders to archive article citations, book chapters, blogs, videos, etc., for each type of information sought. Do NOT mix INFORMATION resource citations with RESEARCH study citation resources.
Most Dissertation resources will be found in Library Databases, but some information resources will not be published through commercial publishing sources. Information published outside the normal publishing processes are called Gray Literature. Your Dissertation topic may (or may not) require gray literature. Consult your faculty and your librarian.
Hopewell S, Loudon K, Clarke Mike J, Oxman Andrew D, Dickersin K. Publication bias in clinical trials due to statistical significance or direction of trial results.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews [serial on the Internet]. 2009; (1): MR000006. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19160345
Looking for Conference Proceedings? Try this resources:
Unpublished Results Initiatives
Dissertations and Theses
NOTE: Universities archive dissertations written by their students. Search individual university library catalogs.
The TWU Libraries will transition to RefWorks 3.0 by the end of 2017. Watch for announcements.
For help using RefWorks, see the Libraries' RefWorks 3.0 webpages below.
Use a folder system for organizing your research.
MAIN FOLDER -- Dissertation Topic Folder - The main topic of the dissertation is the head folder.
Dissertation Subtopic 1, 2, 3, etc. - Beneath the main folder, add as many subtopic folders as needed. These subtopics may be background information, research methodology, statistical information or subject chapters, etc. You decide.
ILL Requests: Hold the citations of articles and books that require TWU's ILL service. After you receive the full-text item, move the citation back to the appropriate subject folder. This process tracks requests and ensures you receive all ILLs.
Delete or Trash - Do NOT delete citations --- even if you think you do not need them! Hold on to any citations that seem to be irrelevant. Later on you may discover you need or want them. This folder is a safe spot.
FINAL - Hold all the citations used in your final dissertation manuscript. As you write, move or copy the citation to this folder. Once you've finished writing, your bibliography will be readymade!
Misc - Hold interesting or tangential articles for future research.
Create a folder:
Click the Down Arrow beside My Folders to expand the options. Click + Add a Folder. Then name your folder and click SAVE.
Create a sub-folder:
Hover your mouse over the folder name. Three vertical dots will appear on the right. Click on the dots, then click on Add subfolder. Name your folder and click SAVE.
A Search Hedge is a readymade search strategy created by expert researchers.
These special search strategies return higher quality results.
Hedges are created uniquely for individual databases and are tested.
Below are some sources of readymade Search Hedges.
Want help determining where to publish? Use JANE below for help.
WARNING: Please contact Amanda Zerangue BEFORE publishing any part of your Dissertation. Many PhD students have lost their copyrights and intellectual property due to publishing too soon. Amanda is a specialist in INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY and COPYRIGHTs.
Search for search terms:
Search for Controlled Vocabulary using the databases below: