AC – After Closed (or terminated, completed, expired, or settled): The record is related to a function or activity with a closure date and is to be disposed of per the TWU Record Retention Schedule.
Accountability - The ability to answer for, explain, or justify actions or decisions for which an individual, organization, or system is responsible.
Active Record - Are records that continue to be used with sufficient frequency to justify keeping them.
Archival Record - These are records designated by the TWU Records Retention Schedule to have enduring historical relevance. Once these records have completed their retention period they are transferred to the University Archive for preservation. The archival record copy must be listed on the disposition log at the time of transfer to the University Archive.
Archives - Often refers to any collection of documents that are old or of historical interest pertaining to TWU or special collections, regardless of how they are organized. The TWU University Archives and Special Collections is located in the Blagg-Huey Library.
AV – Administratively Valuable: The purpose for which the record was created has been fulfilled and any subsequent need for the record to conduct the operations of the agency, has been satisfied. This code is found on the TWU Record Retention Schedule.
CE – Calendar Year End: December 31.
Compliance - The action of complying with a command, or the state of meeting rules or standards.
Convenience Copy or Courtesy Copy - All copies of a document that are not the original record are considered convenience or courtesy copies. They do not need to be listed on the disposition log and may be destroyed at any time within the retention period but must not be kept longer than the original record. Any convenience or courtesy copy kept after the disposition of the original record becomes the original record and is subject to those requirements.
Disposal - The transfer of records, especially inactive records, to their final state, either destruction or transfer to an archive. Note - Disposal is not synonymous with destruction. The manner and timing of disposal is typically described on the retention schedule.
Disposition - Materials' final destruction or transfer to the archive as according to the TWU Record Retention Schedule.
FE – Fiscal Year End: August 31.
File Naming Convention - Is a framework for naming your files in a way that describes what they contain and how they relate to others files.
Historical Records - Records pertaining to the history and people at Texas Woman’s University. These records can be papers, photos, maps, yearbooks, clothing or any other format. These records will be reviewed by the University Archivist for final disposition.
Inactive Record - Records that are no longer used in the day-to-day course of business, but which are preserved and occasionally used for legal, historical, or operational purposes. Use the Record Retention Schedule for disposition of records or contact the Record Retention Specialist or University Archivist for any questions.
Informational Copy - A copy of a record distributed to make recipients aware of the content, but not directing the recipient to take any other action. These records are treated as convenience or courtesy copies and are disposed of after they are no longer needed.
LA – Life of Asset: The record is retained until the deposit of the asset. This code is found on the TWU Record Retention Schedule.
Non-Record - Recorded information that has no administrative, legal, fiscal, or archival value. Non-records do not have any retention requirements and they may be disposed of at any time and do not require a Disposition Log to be completed in order to be destroyed.
PM – Permanent: A record that possesses enduring legal, fiscal, or administrative value and must be preserved permanently by the agency.
Personal Record - A personal record pertains solely to an individual's own affairs. As an employee of the State of Texas, any documents created during work time or using university equipment or supplies are technically public records, including email.
Public Record - A public record is one created or received in the course of work that documents some aspect of University business.
Record - Are evidence of activities at the university and records can be in a variety of formats. An example of formats are document, book, paper, photograph, sound recording, or other material.
Record Copy - The primary copy of recorded information and is often referred to as the "official" record. The official record copy must be retained according to the TWU Record Retention Schedule and must be listed on the TWU Records Disposition Log.
Records Life Cycle - The distinct phases of a record's existence, from creation to final disposition.
Records Management - The systematic and administrative control of records throughout the life cycle.
Records Retention - The systematic management of university documents designed to meet legal requirements, optimize use of space, minimize cost, and preserve the vital history of the university, through the deliberate identification and retention of necessary documents and the destruction of outdated and obsolete records in a documented and secure process.
Records Retention Schedule (see also: Retention Schedule)
Records Schedule (see also: Retention Schedule)
Retention Period - The length of time records should be kept in a certain location or form for administrative, legal, fiscal, historical, or other purposes.
Retention Schedule - A document that identifies and describes an organization's records, sets the timeline for when university records are to be reviewed, how long specific records must be held and how they must then be destroyed. Retention schedules apply to records in all formats, including paper and electronic media.
Retention Schedule Codes:
All numbers used with retention periods are expressed in years unless otherwise indicated.
State Record - is “any written, photographic, machine-readable, or other recorded information created or received by or on behalf of a state agency or an elected state official that documents activities in the conduct of state business or use of public resources.” (TX Government Code 441.180)
Transitory Record - Records of temporary usefulness that are not an integral part of a records series of the university and are not essential to the fulfillment of statutory obligations or to the documentation of the university's history and function. Some examples of transitory information, which can be in any medium (voice mail, fax, email, hard copy, etc.) are routine messages; telephone message notifications; internal meeting notices; routing slips; incoming letters or memoranda of transmittal that add nothing of substance to enclosures; and similar routine information used for communication, but not for the documentation, of a specific university transaction.
University Record - The evidence of work activity, capturing decisions made and actions taken. University records are any form of recorded information, regardless of physical characteristics or format, that is created, received, maintained, or legally filed in the course of university business.
US – Until Superseded: The record is replaced by an updated version. If a record subject to this retention period is discontinued or is no longer required by law, the date of supersession is the date the decision to discontinue the record is made or the law takes effect. If the record relates to an employee, the date of supersession is the date of termination or the last date the record is needed with reference to the employee, as applicable.
Vital Record - Any record necessary to the resumption or continuation of the agency operations in an emergency or disaster; the re-creation of the legal and financial status of the agency; or the protection and fulfillment of obligations to the people of the state.