A biography is an account of the special and important events in a person's life. It should not be confused with the similar sounding term bibliography, which is a listing of books and articles on a topic. Generally, your research for biographies will involve one or more of the following:
choosing a person that interests you or researching a teacher-assigned topic
locating background information (reference resources) to learn more about your person
locating books and other library materials on your person
locating journal or magazine articles for current research or analysis
locating web sites specifically aimed at your person or similar people
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is a collection of over 60 Reference eBooks that can be cross-searched, browsed, and viewed on your iPad or eReader. On the left side under "eBooks," you can click on a chosen subject to explore available titles. Place your pointer over a title to see its description. Click on a book cover for an interactive online book experience!
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage note: A "PDF Full Text" or "HTML Full Text" link indicates available full text access. TWU Libraries may not subscribe to all titles on this platform: full access is not guaranteed. If you wish to obtain a copy of something the library does not have access to, please submit an Interlibrary Loan request. Visit this page for more information on how to submit an ILL request.
Britannica Online consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year, and thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.
Provides comprehensive profiles on 1.2 million (compiled from over 20 Marquis Who's Who print titles) of the most accomplished individuals from all fields including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports.
Includes both current and historical persons from around the world. Comprehensive biographical coverage including the following data elements: birth information, family, education and degree, career history, creative works, awards, military history, achievements, current memberships, interests/hobbies, and contact information.
Users can search by name or can search for people based on attributes such as nationality, occupation, gender, birth year and birth place.
Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Project MUSE, a non-profit collaboration between libraries and publishers, is an online database of peer-reviewed academic journals and electronic books. Project MUSE provides access to digital humanities and social science content from over 250 university presses and scholarly societies around the world.
TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. It includes thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.
Simply search by your book/author/illustrator or browse the collection by grade level, subject/genre or type of resource (interview, book reading, etc). Interactive Tutorial HERE