Includes reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Provides information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. Consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including:
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials(Central)
Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database is published by the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI). The Institute is widely regarded as one of the world’s leading providers of evidence–based information from across the globe, as well as the tools that help healthcare professionals implement an effective evidence–based practice program and provide the best possible patient care.
The Institute’s EBP Database includes a comprehensive range of resources including over 3,000 records across seven publication types. They include literature reviews, recommended practices and procedures, information guideline sheets, comprehensive systematic reviews and protocols, consumer information sheets and technical reports.
This evidence-based, point-of-care resource is for physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech therapists and rehabilitation professionals. With Rehabilitation Reference Center, therapists can access the most current information in their specialty so they can provide the best care to their patients.
MEDLINE with Full Text is a robust database providing full text for hundreds of top biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE. MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers. Created by the United States National Library of Medicine.
Coverage note: A "PDF Full Text" link indicates available access. TWU Libraries may not subscribe to all titles on this platform: full access is not guaranteed. If you wish to obtain a copy of something the library does not have access to, please submit an Interlibrary Loan request. Visit this page for more information on how to submit an ILL request.
Medline (OVID)Coverage dates vary. See "more" for details. Updated daily. Unlimited users.
Ovid MEDLINE® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Records start in the early 1800's and go all the way to our daily updates.
Ovid MEDLINE® is produced by the National Library of Medicine.
The CINAHL database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes indexing for more than 5,100 journals with coverage as far back as 1937 and full text coverage for more than 700 journals. In addition to journals, includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and educational software.
Coverage note: A "PDF Full Text" or "HTML Full Text" link indicates available full text access. TWU Libraries may not subscribe to all titles on this platform: full access is not guaranteed. If you wish to obtain a copy of something the library does not have access to, please submit an Interlibrary Loan request. Visit this page for more information on how to submit an ILL request.
STAT!Ref (now TDS Health)Most recent edition available. Concurrent user limit varies by title, see "more" for details. Updated regularly.
Most titles are 25 concurrent users, some titles are limited to 2 concurrent users. If you receive a Turnaway error, please try again later.
Clinical information resource that provides full text access to key medical reference books and textbooks. Includes MedCalc3000 (now EBMcalc), Stedman’s, Nursing Podcasts, Online Review Quizzes, APhA, DrugInfoLine, and more.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source™ provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. Abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
28+ million records in 30+ languages, encompassing the largest biomedical research and clinical health sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical and bioengineering database in any language, with full text scholarly peer-reviewed and some limited popular information from 5,600+ journals, plus full text and peer reviewed books, dissertations, software. Excellent standards of care and evidence-based nursing, some legal case and conference proceedings and other health sciences. 34,000+ records added annually. Medline citations are included and updated daily.
Full-text availability subject to TWU Libraries subscription status. Click the Find It @ TWU button to search the Libraries catalog. Create your own My NCBI account
Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine including dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, medical conditions, and integrative therapies. Grades are provided to reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition
Spanish language database. Salud en Español provides complete reports based on evidence and data sheets related to all aspects of health and well-being. Specific reports by topic that cover all aspects of health, give important general information regarding diseases, conditions and procedures of various treatments.
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content. The motto is ‘Find evidence fast’ and this is something delivered for every single search.
As well as research evidence, clinicians are allowed to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
FREE EBP Databases
These databases contain evidence and are free and open to the public.