LibGuides: Psychology: Articles / Databases

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in psychology.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology journal articles.
PsycTests This link opens in a new window
Research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology research resource with gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racism, religion, and social work content.

Can't find the article you need?

TWUniversal
Type the article title into the search bar to double check whether TWU owns the article.
Google Scholar
Type the article title into the search bar to see if the article is free online.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) / Document Delivery
Request articles that TWU does not own and that are not free online. Requests take a few business days to process and cost nothing extra for TWU students, faculty, and staff.

Supplementary Databases

Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Citation search of journal articles, books and reviews, dissertations and theses, and technical reports related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and ebooks designed for all levels of educators.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Recommended interface. Journal articles, books, and curriculum guides in education research.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Articles and other resources covering a wide range of current issues in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development and Social Welfare.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Citation search of journals covering health and psychosocial sciences. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Journals at Ovid This link opens in a new window
A list of all Ovid databases to select from.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Recommended interface Medical information including nursing, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences, and dentistry, veterinary medicine.
PsychiatryOnline (POL) This link opens in a new window
Psychiatric textbooks, journals, and professional development tools.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Journal article citations in science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences.

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses at Texas Woman's University (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses produced by TWU students. New TWU dissertations and theses are uploaded to the Repository@TWU
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT) (formerly Dissertation Abstracts Online & ProQuest Digital Dissertations) This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses in all subject areas from universities around the world.

Why use articles?

Articles provide some of the most up-to-date and advanced information on a topic. They are excellent for determining what researchers are studying and what they have found on specific topics.

Tip: If you are needing basic and introductory information on a topic, use books or encyclopedias instead of articles.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a database?

Databases house articles from journals and magazines and make them searchable. No single database contains all journals or articles, so it is best to search multiple databases.

The term journal is often used for publications that contain academic articles. Journals can be issued once per year, twice per year, or even weekly. Each issue of the journal contains new articles. These issues are later combined to create volumes.

What is a scholarly or peer-reviewed article?

Some journals require article submissions to go through a peer review process before being accepted for publication. During this process, experts from the same field as the author review the article to ensure that research methods are sound and that the article advances the field of study. This process prevents the publication of articles that make false claims and misinform readers.

Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science searches thousands of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Search articles that have cited a given article.

Psychology