Includes content from the ScienceDirect Freedom collection, as well as al la carte titles. Provides access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries and other publishers whose online journals are hosted by ScienceDirect.
Ebooks: Selected titles from Elsevier and its subsidiaries are included. These ebooks are DRM-free with unlimited users and PDF chapter downloads/printing.
Best viewed in Chrome. Close pop-up box and begin searching. Users should register for a free Elsevier account in order to utilize features such as "Export to Excel" and downloading lists.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities. Scopus has 55 million records dating back to 1823, 84% of these contain references dating from 1996.
MathSciNet® is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 125,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification.
1. Choose a database to search (see a list of databases below).
2. If available, go straight to the Advanced Search function in the database you are using. This allows for more relevant and precise searching.
3. If available, use a Subject search term instead of a keyword. This will give you results about your topic instead of results that merely mention your search term.
Start with a broad/general subject search term.
If you have too many results, add another search term and/or use limiters (Date, Publication Type, etc.).
If you have too few or no results, try other search terms or use a keyword search and look for subject terms within those results that can be used in a new subject search.
4. Read abstracts and subject terms associated with the article to determine whether it will be relevant to your research.
5. If you have any trouble accessing the full-text version of an article, contact the library for assistance.