Skip to main content

Occupational Therapy - Dallas

Occupational therapy research guide for TWU Dallas students, faculty and staff.

Endnote logo and link to endnote login screen

‚ÄčEndnote has all the usual features a citation manager normally has such as a bibliography maker. It also has a nice feature called 'match' which you can use to find possible journals to publish your articles in. On the downside, the 'write while you cite' plug in will only work on Microsoft Word.

Endnote: How to...

Step 1. Go to https://access.clarivate.com/login, click on register

Screenshot of Endnote create account screen

Step 2. Fill out the registration form. Note*Endnote basic is free.

Screenshot of Endnote registration page

Librarian avatar with quote

Direct export as demonstrated on Cinahl

Step 1. select the articles you wish to upload. They will be sent to a main folder (arrow 2).

Step 2. click on folder icon.

Screen shot of Cinahl database with arrow 1 pointing to article selection and arrow 2 pointing to the folder where selected articles get stored after selection

Step 3. Once in the main storage folder, re-select the articles you want to upload to Refworks.

Step 4. Click on the export icon.

Screen shot of Cinahl with arrow 3 pointing to selected articles, and arrow 4 pointing to the export icon

Step 5. double check to be sure that the database is set to output to the citation manager of your choice.

Step 6. click save. A separate window with the citation manager you requested will pop up and, after you sign in, your citations will automatically be uploaded.

 

Indirect export as demonstrated on PubMed.

Step 1. Select and click on the citations you wish to upload

Step 2. Click on the 'send to' icon

Screen shot of PubMed with arrow pointing to a selection of citations and the 'send to' icon

 

Step 3. Click on 'create file

Step 4. The file will be sent tby default to your hard drive's download folder. You can choose your own storage location should you wish.

Screen shot of PubMed with arrows pointing to 'create file' icon and the downloaded file located on bottom left of the screen

 

Log in to Endnote

Step 1. click on the 'collect' tab

Step 2. select 'import references' from the sub menu

Step 3. Click on 'choose file' and select the file of citations your database created. 

Step 4. Scroll through the list of import options for the different types of file formats. Most databases such as PubMed, CInahl etc will be listed, scroll or type in their name. For generic .RIS files select REFMan RIS.

Step 5. choose the destination folder where you want your uploading citations to be stored

Screenshot of Endnote with arrows pointing to 'collect', 'import citations', fields 'file', 'import citation', and 'to'

Step 1. click on 'organize

Step 2. from the submenu click on 'manage my groups'

Step 3. select the folder you wish to share or click on 'new group' to create a new folder

Step 4. click on 'manage sharing' to share the selected folder, on the pop up that appears type in the email address of the person you are sharing with.

Screenshot of Endnote demonstrating the creation and sharing of a folder

Step 1. Click on 'format'

Step 2. from the submenu select 'bibliography'

Step 3. in the 'references' field select the folder of citations you wish to make into a bibliography; in the field 'bibliographic style' choose the citation style of your choice, e.g. APA 7th; in the field 'file format' select the output of choice, e.g. rich text format

Screenshot of Endnote demonstrating creating bibliographies

Step 4. click on 'preview and print', the pop up window will display your bibliography. Copy and paste it into your paper.

 

 

Step 1. Click on 'Format' 

Step 2. From the submenu, click on 'cite while you write'

Step 3. download the add on to windows or mac

Screen shot of Endnote demonstrating the cite while you write function

Step 4. In Microsoft Word you will now see a new heading tab 'Endnote'. Click on this.

Step 5. Log in to Endnote via the pop up box using your usual account details.

Screen shot of Endnote demonstrating the cite while you write function

Step 6. You can now link to all your saved citations in Endnote as you write your paper.

librarian avatar with quote on citation mangers not being perfect

Step 1. click on 'match'

Step 2. copy and paste the 'title', 'abstract', and 'citations' from your paper into the relevant fields.

Step 1. click 'find journals'. Match will use the information it has been given to mine through journals in order to find ones that publish and 'match' articles similar to yours.

Screenshot of Endnote demonstrating 'match'